Untethered - Part III

in #steemit6 years ago

IMG-2678.JPG

If you have read the previous two editions of Untethered - thank you. If you have not, I hope you'll enjoy coming in at the third phase. This set of poems includes some of my favorites. I typically feel a large amount of anxiety around my writing - I think a lot of it is shit and I hesitate to share it with the world. I am proud of these poems, however. Resiliency is a major theme in this set of writing. Taking life as it comes, making the most out of shit situations by always looking for silver linings and lessons, and moving forward....progressing....always. Thanks again for your readership, and all my love - Heather


Off She Goes
.
She walks along
On her own
With her head held high
Without a drop of remorse
Selfish and self-centered
Maybe
But how about self-sufficient
And selective
Instead

She will give herself time
To let the dust settle
And from there she will rise above

No longer will she be tied
To the desires
Of those who want to use her
To mold her
Into who they want her to be
Oh no, honey
Off she goes wild and free
Free to dance on the water
To swim in that deep blue sea

Like the wind through the trees
Slip sliding along with ease
A metaphysical metamorphosis

Off she goes
The butterfly spreads her wings
................................................................

Compartmentalization
.
Sands of time
Will all unwind
The damage that you did to me

Sands of time
Will all unwind
And unfold
My responsibility in the downfall

Take hold of my actions
Learn from my mistakes

This world gets all or none of me
That is the deal
As we do the dance of life
As we tiptoe along
On this big spinning wheel

Yeah it’s all or nothing baby
There is no wait and see
Fuck compartmentalization
You’re gonna get all of me
................................................

Present Tense
.
If all you can do
Is wade in nostalgia
Swim in your past
Well honey, I do not have time for you
I cannot wait
For you to catch up to me
Here in the present tense

If all you can do
Is worry about the future
Trying to stay ten steps ahead
Trying to prepare for an open door
Preparing for that invitation
To finally live your life
Well honey, I will not exhaust myself
Trying to keep up with you

Yes I am very content
Here in the present tense
Breathing every breath
Recognizing exactly where I am

Immersed in this moment
I am completely free
Society’s shackles
Ain’t got nothin’ on me
..............................................

The Middle Way
.
Do away
With the middle way
Go big
Or go to your grave
Knowing that you never really went for it
Knowing that you never really tested yourself

How does one know one’s self
Without exploring the limits

Build your cocoon of dissociation
Won’t participate in the negotiation
Of your life
Content to let the wave take you where it takes you
No force majeure
Just a surrender
To the gravity created
By your own personal orbit

East versus West
Or is it North versus South
Or is it neither versus neither
Our celestial bodies strewn about

So here we sit on this astral plane
Of vast and beautiful potential
Studying the proverbial weather vanes
But what’s the use anyways?
Instead we continue to wade
In the gentle stream of complacency
Taking that middle way
.............................................

Lessons
.
Waves crashing upon the sands of time
Ripples of painful memories
Dissipating out into the celestial seas
This big old world still keeps on turning
And there is still so much left to see

A journey nowhere near complete
But accomplished just the same
Day in, Day out
Night in, Night out
Your evolving soul
She remains

Lessons in each moment
If you look
If you’re willing to do the work

Lessons in every moment
Pick yourself up, honey
Dust off the dirt

Keep on keeping on, my baby
Keep riding that tidal wave
Yes keep on keeping on, my baby
Your love light shines just the same
......................................

Original Poetry and Photography by Heather Cobb
Photograph: Lisbon, Portugal

Sort:  

Great colors with the sky and clouds.. love it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52740.91
ETH 2362.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.09