Steemit – Code highlighting

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Hay Steemit community,

We all know that Steemit has some missing features for people who want to start a real blog. Some of them, like the missing notifaction for the blogger you are following, have already been discussed multiple times. Today I wanted to continue my Tutorial (https://steemit.com/docker/@dez1337/improve-your-software-development-continuous-deployment-with-docker-part-1-introduction-and-motivation ), but found out that Steemit has no support for code highlighting.

Because of its technical background, this platform has many users that can code and want to show some cool stuff they have created. Maybe you can add a code highlithing for us? – It would be great!

Who else would like this feature or even needs it?

#Steemit
#Software
#FeatureRequest

Sort:  

The fact that this feature is still missing is mind boggling. I mean...how hard can it be? If not native support, at least enable some more advanced HTML support so that we can use converters and the like for syntax highlighting.

This is a great idea! I am a software engineer and I would like to run computer science/interview prep blog here. Syntax coloring would definitely help.

Yip :) sadly, nothing happened so far 😢

Nice idea, I think these features are great but should be more under the hood for the common user to find.

Thank you for the feedback. I guess you are right. For the moment I will use external services to put my code examples, but im afraid of dead links which would make the tutorial pretty useless :x

This seems like a no-brainer, syntax highlighting and code formatting are a part of most markdown implementations.

It really is. You get a lot of opensouce stuff to implement this, but someone has to do it :D

Yes! Syntax Highlighting would make technical writing so much more readable and enjoyable.
While waiting for Syntax Highlighting to be supported on Steemit, I added it on my Steemit using TamperMonkey.
Syntax Highlighting with TamperMonkey

Good point. I think a lot of these things will gradually be added in.

That's what I hope. Steemi has a lot of potential for bloggers, but there are so many missing features :'( Time will tell :)

I was looking for this feature too. This is how I found this article. What external services are available as a temporary solution?

Yes! Syntax Highlighting would make technical writing so much more readable and enjoyable.
While waiting for Syntax Highlighting to be supported on Steemit, I added it on my Steemit using TamperMonkey.
Syntax Highlighting with TamperMonkey

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64255.05
ETH 3499.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50