How much of the voting done on Steemit is automated these days??

in #steemit7 years ago

Well, as many of you may know, there are a lot of options for automated voting on Steemit nowadays.

automate.png

To me this is an incredible thing. I remember way back in the day when automated voting was exclusively the domain of bots and those that controlled them. There was a lot of SP to made in those days if you had the right skills, or knew the right people. There were also a lot of discussions going on about bots and how they affected the Steemit community. Many believed that they would basically be the end of Steemit, but like many other things Steemit has continued to endure and evolve.

I remember back then thinking about how cool it would be if I could make my own bot, but I don't have those skills, and I don't know those people. Oh well, that's ok, I'll just keep plugging away on Steemit as I can, and post and comment.

Screen Shot 2018-01-10 at 1.29.43 PM.png

Months down the road we started to see things like curation guilds, then the upvote bots came, then SP delegation, paid SP delegation, Dr. Otto and the rise of the bid bots, and along with that, more recently we have seen services like Streemian and more importantly Steemvoter.

If you haven't heard of Steemvoter before you should deffinitely go check it out, I believe it is part of the Minnowbooster project, and they do incredible work.

Essentially what Steemvoter is, is a site where you can sign up with your Steemit account, and all you need to put in is your posting key. Then you can set up your steemvoter to vote on posts on your behalf. What this does is allows you to create a list of your favorite authors, then set a percentage of upvote you will give to them, and set the time that you will upvote the post as well (it's best to set the vote time to around 30 minutes after the post for curation reward purposes). This way you can automatically upvote and support your favorite Steemians, and not have to manually search through your feed every hour to see if they posted, and potentially miss one of their posts.

This system works perfectly for a person like me who follows enough people that I can never see every post, but I want to make sure that I continue to support the people that I follow and like. Then when I have time I can scroll through my feed, click on posts from users that I vote for, and usually read the two or three posts that I missed as well.

keep up.jpg

Well there has been an issue recently with Steemvoter. The Service has been down in fact. I noticed a few days ago that posts I should have automatically upvoted were not receiving my vote, so I went onto the Steemvoter discord channel and found out that they have been overwhelmed and needed to migrate servers.

servers.jpg

At about the same time as Steemvoter went down I started to notice a drop in payout rewards for quite a few Steemians, and it got me to thinking: "Just how much of the voting done on Steemit is actually automated these days?"

My guess would be a lot. And of course the next question is of course is this a good thing or a bad thing?

Well I know for myself there is absolutely no possible way that I can even keep up with those that I am following, never mind actually searching through the new or hot pages (I haven't bothered looking at "trending" in months) So for me it's good that services like Steemvoter are around as they enable me to keep up with and support Steemians that I want to without necessarily having to spend as much time as I could. But I also understand the argument against automated voting.

What are your thoughts? Are you into Steemvoter? Is automated voting a bad thing for Steemit? Have you been missing a lot of votes since Steemvoter went down?

I post photos, follow me @dexter-k on Steemit to see more.

You can also see our professional photography work if you want to by heading over to our website dallaskphoto.com and dallaskolotylo.com.

Thanks for being alive

Dexter

Sort:  

I don't use autovoters anymore. Used to. One of the main uses of it for me was to ensure I don't miss posts by favorite authors that go up while I sleep (yes, I do that sometimes). I just looked at my outgoing votes in the morning to see what good content I've already upvoted. :)

Now I try to stick to manual, but I totally understand people who want to support favorite authors and artists without spending hours on their feed.

Yeah it's a tough call. I tend to miss a lot of posts since I'm in a different time zone than most of the people I follow. (I live in Spain and most of those I follow are in North America) So for me it makes sense for that reason. I also do a fair bit of manual voting, honestly probably as much as before I started Steemvoter, it's just that now I also never miss voting on authors that I want to support (if Steemvoter is working that is, haha)

And of course the next question is of course is this a good thing or a bad thing?

As I stated in my recent post: "It's the Idea that nothing is either good or bad. It's the Intention of the Consciousness behind the given thing that decides to use it for good or for bad."

If people use it to support other content creators that they like, as you do it, it's perfectly fine. But if there ends up being created like a closed circle where those of high Steem Power use all of their Voting Power to only vote between them, without ever promoting new and upcoming creators.. Then I would say that it's bad.

That being said. Great post @Dexter-k! Thanks for sharing. :D

Thanks for your comment @cipriang. I totally agree with you about the autovoters, it can get into a bad cycle quite quickly. Unfortunately it is a part of the Steem ecosystem for now so I guess we just have to do the best we can ourselves.

actually sir i didnt have much idea about this steem voter system since i am a new comer..but after reading this post i got some idea about it..so i dont know whether my idea about this is correct or not..but i think it has both positives and negatives..it is a very easy way of voting for the followers..but it will not have any good on the following ones and for the new comers..

Yes you got it pretty well, though I wouldn't say it does absolutely nothing for the following ones and new comers. If you are a newcomer and you set up steemvoter you could potentially make much more in curation rewards than if you were to vote all manually, as you would be able to set up strategically timed votes on authors that you know will have high payouts. There are benefits and negatives to this as well, as it tends to promote a self driving, and somewhat selfish system, which is not what Steemit is meant to be, but things play out as they will.

Enjoy the vote and reward! Mutual Upvote you :) Follow and Upvote you.
Welcome ! @dexter-k

I use @steemdunk for my auto voting and I really like it. It's very simple and I get a good upvote every so often for using it.

This is the voting site:
https://steemdunk.xyz/

I've never heard of steemdunk but I'll have to check it out, thanks! I'm glad its working well for you :)

POST for Thanks Bro

I'm following back and I'm sharing the content of followers organically. My account for following back is:@followback

Thanks bro!

hahah everything is automated on steemit i have personally seen that lol i am good that i did everything manually lol

Haha, nice!

i use some auto votes because no one votes me :(
and also I need to have sp in my account..... I found them profitable....

Yeah it can be tough gaining a good reputation and steem power. Keep your head down and keep posting, you will get there!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.02
ETH 2553.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78