I currently mine Ethereum, is it worth switching to Steem?

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

ethereumsteem9a99b.png

Hello Steemians,

I currently mine Ethereum and I'm wondering if it's worth switching to Steem. I am running two R7 370's, and soon will add an additional two RX 480 cards when the custom AIB cards are released—this is the first mining rig I've ever built. I use a headless setup with Ubuntu 16.04 and I ssh into the rig to perform any tweaks and modifications. At the moment, I'm generating an average of 32 MH/s with this setup, and hoping the RX 480's will get me closer to 80 or 90 MH/s. At the current rate of 32 MH/s, I am getting about 1 Ether every 4 days.

How much Steem would I be able to mine with my current setup and is it worth switching to Steem?

Sort:  

No GPU miner for Steem yet, only CPU.
No pools, only solo-mining.

Hmm... only CPU mining? That seems pretty crazy. Is anyone building a GPU miner?

How much Steem have you mined with your CPU?

don't expect a gpu miner. if someone posts one, use a thousand virusscanners and check the code for what it does.

Why wouldn't there be a GPU miner coming?

Hmmm how does one cpu mine steem. What software, work with sha256 miners?

I wrote about it here, if you are interested.

If you install GPU mining software, can you set a percentage of CPU power you want to utilize, so that it does not overwhelm your computer for other tasks?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00