Thinking of Bailing on Steemit? Think Again!

in #steemit8 years ago

So you made $.12 on your best post.  You see other people making more, a lot more.  You get upset.  So upset that you complain about it...in a post.  That post earns $.01.  Clearly it’s time to bail, right?

Let me ask, how much did your last tweet earn you?  I’ll wait, while you count your stacks of non-existent money.  Well, maybe that was just Twitter, surely you earned lots more on Reddit or Facebook, right?  Nope, still nothing.

Yet, here you are, getting actual money for content you otherwise would have gotten absolutely nothing for, and you are complaining that it’s not enough.  Hmmm...maybe, just maybe, Steemit isn’t the problem here.

Maybe, the problem is your perspective.

Stop expecting money.

It’s a great feeling getting paid out on Steemit.  It’s even better getting paid out, when you aren’t expecting it.  It turns the payout you receive for sharing your passions into a complete bonus.  Some on here have this backwards and are passionate about the money first.  This is just setting you up for a big letdown.

Steemit is all about people connecting, sharing, and growing together.  Yes, we are financially incentivized to do this on the platform, but I am suggesting you participate with Steemit a little differently.

Do more you.

Experiences define a person.  Get out there and experience life however it is you want to experience it.  Get passionate about the things that matter to you.  There are only 40,000 people on the site right now, so it’s not likely many will share the same interests as you today.  Don’t let this deter you.

Steemit will grow, and it will attract many new users in the coming months.  Fans of the stuff that you like are probably joining as I type.  These people will find you if you keep doing your thing.  They will support you and follow you if you are one of the only people on Steemit talking about the stuff they care about.  Your tribe will grow, but only if you help it grow.

If you are assessing Steemit.com’s potential based on a couple weeks of interacting with it, you are making a grave mistake.  Steemit didn’t launch as a finished product.  It is in beta.  It is getting worked on.  It will get smoother to use.  As it does, even more users will be attracted to it, and even more people who share interests with you.

So if you really want to get the most out of your Steemit experience, become the leader of all things you.  Or just bail and admit that you value money more than yourself.

Sort:  

This is another great post to bring everyone down to reality. I will admit when my hubby told me about Steemit and I first looked into it I just about pee'd my pants with excitement. Then my hubby brought me be back down to earth and made me realize that not everyone or every post will be sitting in the thousands from the "trending" page you first see when you come to steemit.

Yesterday I posted my very first post with a short introduction written in story format to begin a series of stories about who I am and what I have become ... you can check it out here if anyone is interested My Intro / Story

As I sat there spending well over 4 hours writing it ( yes I know its crazy amount of time for what it actually ended up being ) I accepted the fact it wasn't probably going to be one of those home run or lottery type posts. But I was extremely OK with that. I personally want to write quality content to share with those who enjoy what I have. If I make a few bucks that is awesome! ( I made about $25 .. which is going straight into steem!) I find this to be humbling, amazing and exciting. I spent many hours on other sites like Facebook only to watch Mr. Mark Zuckerberg become a billionaire off everyone elses content. So what has been created here for us, especially content creators is freakin amazing.

In the end, some people will be envious, jealous and think they are "owed" a jackpot. In reality just do what you like to do and accept what "value" you are given by your upvotes and from there improve, but stay true to yourself in the process.


Ok the above portion I commented on a very similar post as this one, and I thought I would share that comment here because ..... well it is perfect for this post as well. Found Here

A person should be willing to invest time and patience here if they truly want flourish on Steemit. Yes, some posts will get lucky as heck and hit it big, it might be yours it might now. But maybe tomorrows post will be a home run .... thats if it is high quality and the right people like what you had to say.

Good luck fellow Steemit's, I plan on sticking around a long time, so you might as all well get to know me now! :)

I just find it amazing that steemit is getting so much support in such a little amount of time. I started using steemit 2 months ago when there were a little over 10k users and now that number has quadrupled. I honestly feel blessed to have started out that early, and I definitely think that the ship has not sailed with this, steemit is definitely still in its early stages! Thank you for the insightful post!

I totally agree with you, when Steemit grows bigger, the popularity between subjects will level out and earnings will become more fair. And indeed, the earnings are an extra, its enjoyable already to join on a social media platform!

Couldn't of said it better. Great post/content man! Keep doing you!

I keep reading words like "earning " and " getting" wrote around a lot in posted comments. Let's start this all up by sharing and forgetting the the payment process . If you stay active and insightful when participating on this new social media platform called Steemit, I'm sure your efforts will eventually give you the cheese.

For now let's just engage and see if Steemit can change the way content is paid to the people who create it for real.

Well said, I would say no free lunch. Keep Steeming!

"Let me ask, how much did your last tweet earn you?" The same reason i left facebook, i was just wasting my time in those prisons, now i spend 5 to 10 hours a day in steemit, there are way more interesting stories here and i get to earn cash just by commenting and voting. Brilliant

Exactly what I though what I open up my steemit account. We are wasting time in social media without specting anythung back. Here at least you get pay to do what you like. It is not enough? Work harder, and enjoy, share, learn and do what you are already doing in other sites.

If the steemit have own chat and a good notifications I will leave the other social red, steemit is more interesting better to learn, most productive. It's the future steemit. I believe that

I like reading posts that are realistic when it comes to the money aspect of Steemit. It puts in perspective why we are all on here in the first place.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58503.45
ETH 2594.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45