You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Revamping Curation Is The Way To Increase Steem Power Demand

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Nailed it. Content is not worth much. You can always paste from another site you run. See all the crypto news sites. Honestly it should probably be 75-25 in favor of curation. Activity and dare I say attention is what makes this a valuable platform. Every move has so far reduced activity. Hopefully the next steps will increase activity and I include curation in the list of activity.
I would do 50percent curation 25percent comments and 25 percent orginal poster if you want activity.

Every improvement to site should explain how it increases activity (reading, voting, commenting and posting)

Sort:  

Every improvement to site should explain how it increases activity (reading, voting, commenting and posting)

Agree with just about everything in your comment (though not sure about 75-25). I would add, though, that "posting", at least as it currently exists in this system, is without question the least important and widely practiced component of activity. Most people are not and never will be expert writers/bloggers, world travelers, etc. capable of creating amazing original content on a regular basis. We need to refocus on "activity" with a much wider base of participation.

Funny i almost left out posting but thought it wasn't fair to leave it out of activity. I agree it's least important.

I would add, though, that "posting", at least as it currently exists in this system, is without question the least important and widely practiced component of activity.

Thank you @smooth! I joined this platform about 3 months ago and my activity here has been incredibly high, my work ethic is insane and I put much energy in something I feel promising. Not that anyone cares but if you or anyone noticed my recent productivity here it has dropped not due to the fact I don't enjoy this platform but energy giving out needs to have some type of energy coming in at some point. I have over 1500 post of course comments are included and all my comments are relative to the topic and has major value 90% of time if not all. If I had the funds to deposit massive steem I would be a human bot curator that bots would want to get rid of, I love reading and learning being on steemit is made for me. If activity dictated rewards I would be a "Whale"

Yeah giving more to the curators attracting more people into steemit may just be more beneficial for the content creators in the long run anyways. I think this change is needed, curation rewards definitely need to go up for minnows, I'm not complaining mine have been decent but that's because I have 14000SP. I can only imagine how discouraging it can be to vote day after day and make fuck all day after day.

CONTENT IS KING

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57184.88
ETH 3097.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41