Quitting a Really Bad Habit: The News

in #steemit8 years ago

Exactly twelve years ago I quit smoking. It wasn't easy, but it was totally worth it!

Today, I decided to quit another addiction, that I've been wanting to get rid of for a long time: The News.

The medial nothingness--we really don't know anything, but consult with self-proclaimed experts all day long, who produce little more than hot air--shows again and again that it's just theater. Who cames up with the most spectacular story, the most terrifying pictures, the scariest speculations.

Facts? Who needs facts?

From now on: I've got it up to here. No more news. I'll certainly know when anything significant happens. But I won't watch, read, browse, waste my time and my mood on news anymore!


Sort:  

Mainstream news is like the grocery store tabloids near the cash register. They're all headlines, fluff, and exaggerated stories taken out of context.

Smoking is better than listening to mainstream news. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61082.45
ETH 3394.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51