You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Language a barrier in steemit?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

@topdog, you bring up an important topic here...

Yes, I agree that there is no "level playing field." That's just LIFE, and any pretense otherwise is simply pulling the wool over one's own eyes.

But we can also ask to what extent we need to attempt to make the playing field level. If I go to the hospital needing brain surgery for my kid, you can be damn sure I'm going to look for the Princeton educated neurosurgeon to do the job, and not give "equal opportunity" to the local village butcher... in the guise of it being "fair play" that they are "both people with knives." I realize that sounds extreme, and it's meant to, as a point of reference to rattle the whole equality thing.

More functionally speaking, it was always my genuine hope that the Steemit "Communities" initiative would include native languages. To me, it would be a beautifully simple way to do some leveling of the playing field: Right now, we aready have "cn" and "kr" and a few other tags... so why not implement a full set of "fixed" tags corresponding to the same way Web domains of different nations have a two-letter extension-- for example, I am Danish and there would be a "dk" community.

So that would allow a sort of "level playing field" within one's own language.

Of course, the counter argument is that "the bulk of Steemit activity is English language based" and that's true. If you wish to participate in the "big time" you'll most likely require English... although some "kr" and "cn" blogs are hugely popular.

I'm just thinking out loud here, because it seems this will become an increasingly important issue as our community grows.

I suppose another possible (although not perfect) possibility is for one of our talented developers to create a "translate this" app that goes between the different languages, allowing anyone to create and read any content in any language. Grammar and usage "awkwardness?" Sure, but at least it would greatly increase accessibility.

Edited to add: P.S. English isn't my first language, either!

Sort:  

@denmarkguy, your english is excellent. Even with a translate app, I am at a disadvantage. my mother tongue is Konkani, it is a spoken language and there is no script to it. apart from that I also speak another 5 native Indian languages. English came much later. I find difficult to get the right words to express my exact feelings in this platform. Hope I will improve as I keep blogging away. :)

Well, I think your English is also excellent... and certainly no hindrance to understanding!

@denmarkguy , Thanks for your kind words. I appreciate it very much. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67284.54
ETH 3306.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71