You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Question: What is your thought process when deciding to upvote / resteem?

in #steemit7 years ago

For me, resteeming is limited to posts that either totally gave me a "wow!" feeling-- typically created by some of my favorite contributors here, OR posts I feel are important to the community from more of a "public service announcement" angle.

Upvoting? To some degree, I am motivated/guided by my writing and editorial background... I consider the content and evaluate whether it adds value to Steemit overall, as a "content venue." As in... if I were surfing along and saw this collection of content, would I think "cool site, I'll check this out some more?"

I'll upvote at 100% for things I feel are "solid" and "add value," and then scale down to about a 20% upvote for content I see as "passable, but not spam or spun content." I see my task as a "vote caster" similar to being a magazine editor who gets 100s of submissions... the good stuff gets featured, the OK stuff gets put somewhere "in line" and the junk gets ignored.

Sort:  

Sounds like a solid framework for thinking about it. So it doesn't sound like you feel like it "costs" you anything to upvote?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61137.27
ETH 2383.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52