How Steemit is Teaching People about Mindfulness and Higher Consciousness

in #steemit7 years ago

No, I don't think I'm being overly New Age and woo-woo here, so bear with me for a moment as I explain.

Marigold
The heart of a marigold, in close-up

This morning I was doing my usual "rounds" on Steemit, which typically includes trying to find a few promising newcomers and adding some welcoming words of encouragement to their posts. 

Pay it Forward?

So I found myself reading a post by relative newcomer @silverstring entitled "Shoutout to Steemians Paying it Forward," and I suddenly realized something rather remarkable about the entire Steemit experience... and the how and why of how this community truly is changing the lives of so many people.

Now before I go any further, I should add that this article is based on a fairly "general" perspective... OF COURSE there will be individual instances that contradict what I am saying here, and counterarguments could be made. But on the whole...

What is it we DO, on Steemit?

The immediate answer might be that we create content and write posts (or "blog") that gets published and then we upvote and comment on other content and follow people whose contributions we like.

Certainly true, on the surface.

FlatheadLake
Thunderstorm over Flathead Lake, Montana

But what does that mean, on a deeper level? What drives it?

A while back I wrote a post about how being kind to others is actually a kindness to ourselves. It simply feels good to give someone a hand; a leg up... not only do they benefit, but we benefit by feeling good because someone else is better off. And it's really hard to stay grumpy when you are doing a kindness for someone else, so there's the mood benefit, as well.

Brilliant Design... or Brilliant Accident?

Then it occurred to me that Steemit is actually-- whether inadvertently, or through brilliant deliberate design-- a training ground of sorts for the idea that when we help others, we help ourselves

Posts
A couple of really good posts...

In life, that's often a slow process. We mow our neighbor's lawn today because her foot is in a cast; she brings us an apple pie two weeks later. On Steemit, the same form of reciprocity exists, except it is almost instant.

Now, I say this not because I am talking about "giving to get;" but because I simply believe in "right action."

Let's break it down even further: When we follow someone, and encourage them with upvotes and comments, we're actually making the (their) world a slightly better place. Now they feel a little tiny bit more encouraged, and they are more likely to go "pay it forward" (one of my favorite movies, incidentally) to someone else... and so forth, and so on.

Can Helping Others Become "Addictive?"

Occasionally someone mentions-- facetiously, of course-- how they are becoming "addicted" to Steemit. I must confess I'm a bit in that boat, myself, but let's look at the "nature" of that addiction.

Cormorant
Nesting cormorants, Denmark

If we are, indeed, growing "addicted" to something here, we are growing addicted to helping people. I "upvote" someone's post, and I can physically see that there's a little bit more in their "tip jar" (how I view the rewards counter)... and that's a positive feeling. If it is an "addiction," at all, it is to a rewarding behavior pattern.

It's also quite different from how other social platforms work... where people "collect" friends, or "likes" or whatever simply in the hope of feeling more "popular" among their peers. But it's ultimately a shell game; a house of cards that seldom leaves a lasting impression of wellness. 

Sure, folks are just as "addicted" to Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest and SnapChat... as they might claim they are to Steemit but those are "empty" addictions; like eating a sugar cube and getting a few seconds' rush, but without actually feeling authentically nourished by what you did.

WildRose
Wild beach rose, Denmark

Skepticism?

Of course, we can "go all scientific" on this and distill it down to no more than our desires to feed our own dopamine addiction. That's fine... but at least we're feeding it a meal of goodness towards others, rather than an empty sugar cube. 

We can also "go all skeptical" on this and argue that people wouldn't be doing any of this if they weren't getting rewarded... so it's not truly altruistic deeds we're engaged in. My "return skeptic" pipes up and says "And allowing Farcebook to exploit your good nature for FREE is a more 'noble' thing because...? Because...? Anyone? Bueller?" I don't think so. But the whole discussion of whether "elective" poverty somehow makes us more noble and conscious is a topic for another article, on another day.

Getting back to the topic of the moment... it seems to me that a large part of what makes Steemit "work" so well for everyone is exactly this thing that we are subtly being taught that helping others a little bit actually helps US... and isn't THAT just an amazing thing!

I think it really works, though. For the past four months, I have observed a number of people come to this platform "for the money," but a couple of months later I find them still posting... but because they feel like they are part of something.

All I can say to that is... WOW!

What do YOU think? Have you ever paused to consider the greater psychological effect of Steemit? Have you looked deeper at what this community actually DOES? What our daily rounds and votes and comments mean, on a greater scale? IS there an element of Steemit that is subtly teaching us to be better, more caring people? Leave a comment-- share your experiences and observations-- start the conversation!

(As usual, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is original content, created expressly for Steemit)

Sort:  

Very interesting idea. I see that it does make sense, and makes Steem so addictive, since every upvote is a double dopamine both of helping others and making money.

I was just thinking about how it is "getting us in the habit" of doing kindnesses onto others... and then a good number of us might take that BEYOND Steemit... and that's pretty HUGE.

So, are you saying that Steemit will pave the way for a kinder, gentler world?

Maybe, maybe not. Mostly my implication is that Steemit may help more people have more moments where they have the realization "Hey, I just helped that person... and I felt good about it, too!"

what a fantastic post my friend i am so with you here.

Thanks! It just made sense, all of a sudden.

It's also quite different from how other social platforms work... where people "collect" friends, or "likes" or whatever simply in the hope of feeling more "popular" among their peers. But it's ultimately a shell game; a house of cards that seldom leaves a lasting impression of wellness.

Sure, folks are just as "addicted" to Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest and SnapChat... as they might claim they are to Steemit but those are "empty" addictions; like eating a sugar cube and getting a few seconds' rush, but without actually feeling authentically nourished by what you did.

Well, Steemit has the same ting, because they all involve a form of attention grabbing. On Steemit, it's grab someones attention which allows you to potentially make money, while the other sites don't have that factor.

I find it a bit one sided that you only characterize those other sites' shares, likes, etc. as just to be popular, that its a shell game, or empty. The attention, sharing knowledge, experience, etc. is always there, whether it's Steemit or not, but on Steemit the monetary aspect can override the other drives while the other platform that can't happen so it's certainly more about the content by default.

Reciprocity to money on Steemit for getting upvotes to giving upvotes, or non-Steemit FB or the like to give likes to get likes, their is still a give and get in either case. I and others have seen how the money drives people to engage in scammy behavior to try to make money, and that behavior wouldn't get them anywhere on other sites... nor would it be permitted in other more morally-aligned communities, because Steemit is motivating people to make money, not to become better people. That's a personal choice to evolve to higher consciousness thinking and living. Buying votes is the latest sham.

I tried to spread knowledge on FB, but it's too big to get noticed. On Steemit I had more success. I suspect it's related to the type of people and not how much "better" (more altruistic, or whatever) people on Steemit are for the alleged reasons you site, but moreso that Steemit is smaller and you can get recognized.

There's no doubt this is ALL part of the "Attention Ecosystem" that dominates our times.

I can appreciate your comment about "one sided;" and must confess to personal bias there because I am a writer and the constant soup of "clever" memes and one-liners about a picture of a taco someone had for lunch doesn't "do" it for me... and I find that a very "empty" experience.

When the last (in my opinion) good social blogging platform went away around 2008... I definitely tried actual writing on Facebook, but the focus and content presentation algorithms are such that actual writing of any substance is rendered all but invisible. It's not what people want, there. Rewards aside, my appreciation for Steemit is also rooted in the fact that I perceive there to be more "meat" on the bones of the content I encounter here. But I also acknowledge that's a reflection of my own personal content "algorithm."

Indeed, you don't get too popular there, as we wouldn't too much in the mainstream either. The mainstream mindset doesn't care too muh about this type of content. The fluff is preferred. But there are "New Age" and alt-news and anarchistic personalities on FB that have high feedback on their content posted. The attention economy is largely popularity based.

Maybe the more rich content is due to smaller numbers being more visible and findable, as opposed to FB or too large a base and too much to sift through to it? Like it's easier to find a pin somewhere in a pile of hay, as opposed to 10 pints in a pile of hay 10 times the size of the first one. Know what I mean?

Growing a new idea is fun and hard work, doing this with others is grounding for me, I like the feeling. The healthy part for me is being able to share my work through larger profits I've been making and donations. I've learned about criptocurrency and been able to cash out my profits to give to my favorite charities and buy things I need. The money is icing on the Steemit cake. I've never experienced anything like Steemit in all the years I've been online. I've mostly been online networking for Buddhist projects. I've been working on mindfulness forever, sati, to remember ...be kind, be wise, be patient, the flux of phenomena, no thing last forever so be wisely kind.

You have a more solid background in loving-kindness than most, so these are obviously not new concepts to you. For quite a few people, I am sure, the Steemit experience is a very firsthand and direct example of "wow, I just helped that person, and I feel good, as well!" Do it enough... and it becomes a habit. In this case, we are all building a very positive habit pattern together!

I'm still working on that habit, Steemit is my teacher😉

Fantastic point @denmarkguy - I actually feel myself becoming a much happier and nicer person since joining Steemit. By reading and following each other on a daily basis, our community is becoming more and more open and positive with each upvote!

In a sense, I have felt that, too. Most social sites work in a similar way, but the content here is more geared towards authentic expression... most other social platforms have an emphasis on "short."

Yup I agree and believe that the openness and uncensorship of Steemit allows people to more freely express themselves without getting too crazy, since the community is still very positive and welcoming of everyone.

You explain it very well! And I think it was a brilliant accident. I get the impression that the only thing Steemit developers meant to do was to monetize participating in social media in a very convenient way -- but who could foresee that everyone would start being nice to each other! I love the positive environment. Very cool

You may be right, of course. Although... the more I poke around, the less it seems that anything about the underlying bones of Steemit is "accidental." Either way, I really do appreciate the overall high level of positivity.

"Giving to get" , I also think about this about steemit community, but I need to ponder about beyond that mindset. There are many reason beside "giving to get", " right action", yes you are right. Nice posting! :)

There's nothing inherently wrong with giving to get... it just differs from simply "giving" in that the starting post is a transaction, rather than altruism.

You have a nice thoughts there!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63064.93
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55