Eight Months, 2000 Followers-- Wow! A Kind of Journal Entry

in #steemit7 years ago

I'm not big on the whole self-congratulatory "woo-hoo, look at my latest milestone" posts. Don't get me wrong, I don't begrudge anyone their right to a bit of celebration.

Inspired instead by a post on @lukestokes' blog a while back, I prefer to just occasionally mark my points of progress in more of a "personal journal format," and then commit the post to the permanent record of the blockchain. 

2000 Followers: It Has Been Just Eight Months

2000Followers
Skated past 2000 followers without even noticing!

Eight months, almost to the day, since I started blogging on Steemit. It says I joined in January, but I didn't actually post anything till February 2nd. 

That's typical me-- poke around for a few days to get the lay of the land and gauge "how things are done," rather than just jump in at the deep end. 

The 2,000th follower joined the crowd overnight sometime while I was sleeping... I don't know who you are, but thanks for the vote of confidence!

And, of course, thanks also to the prior 1,999 of you!

I'm privately excited about this milestone, as well, because of this tidbit:

In Eight MONTHS on Steemit I have gained more followers than in Eight YEARS on twitter!

Cat
A random cat on a chair, at a random sidewalk cafe in Amsterdam...

That says something, because I actually have a "real" twitter account that I use-- mostly to promote my writing and my web sites. 

Says a lot about the "stickiness" of Steemit, as a social content venue.

Closing in on 7,500 posts

That's quite a lot of writing! 

Enough to recently be flirting with the top-100 on SteemWhales, in terms of number of posts. 

360+ of those are original blog posts; the rest comments. Given that I also write a fair number of comments that are almost blog post length, I sometimes wonder just how much text that is.

I have written something almost every day, since starting here. For me, that IS a milestone worth noting... I have not blogged that steadily since "the old days" on Xanga... where I went for close to three years straight, before losing steam.

The Beauty of Social Blogging

Connectivity and engagement is one of the great characteristics of Social Blogging.

CactusBlossom
Prickly pear cactus in bloom, Joshua Tree, CA

Because "Social Blogging" IS what we're doing, here on Steemit. 

Well, maybe that's an overstatement... but those who get anywhere on this platform are into social blogging.

I hardly ever use Facebook, anymore-- it's just for birthdays and pictures of events, these days. Here's a "fun fact" for you-- even when I was at my most active on Facebook, I almost never posted anything that got as many comments as posts here on Steemit. 

The level of engagement here, continues to astound me.

And-- without sounding TOO elitist-- the average level of intelligence in posts here is head and shoulders above any other social media currently out there.

Which suits me fine... I had grown really tired of "stupid content.

Yeah, maybe I am elitist. 

Looking Ahead

Don't really have any great plans and goals for my ongoing participation here... aside from "I'll continue to contribute here!"

Trying to develop a system (mostly using browser bookmarks) that'll enable me to more effectively keep up with my favorite Steemians.

RedLeaves
Red fall leaves

To that end-- I'm also sorry I do NOT "follow back" automatically. It's hard enough for me to try to keep up with the 400-something people I am trying to follow, let alone 2000+-- even if many of those are "ghosts." According to SteemReports, I've only upvoted 178 of you in the past couple of weeks...

But here's the thing: I curate manually. If you get an upvote from me, it's because my human eyes actually looked at and read what you had to say. Which is also how some of my rather wordy comments are born.

I'm also going to be spending some more time working with our @reddragonfly business account... where I write almost 100% about art, artists and creativity. It's much more of a niche/specialty account than this one. Check it out, if you haven't!

We were recently invited to join the @sndbox creative incubator initiative, and I'm very excited about being part of that... supporting and promoting art and artists has been one of my passions in life for several decades. 

But no worries, there will still be plenty of time these pages! At least that's my intention.

In the meantime, thanks to everyone who has taken the time-- at some point-- to read my ramblings! I hope I can continue to earn your trust and interest.

And do leave a comment and let your voice be heard, if you feel so inclined! Interaction is always appreciated!

(As usual, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is original content, created expressly for Steemit)
Created at 171003 22:40 PDT

Sort:  

I really appreciate everything you do here in the community. You are a inspiring person and I wish you well in all you do man!

Thanks Earl, and good wishes coming right back at you!

Congratulations you deserve it, I appreciate your votes and like to see you pop up in my comments :)

Thanks Karen-- I appreciate your support and encouragement!

You are welcome, :)

Tillykke med det! 2000 er sgu flot. Hvor længe har du boet i USA og hvad var årsagen til du flyttede? :)

Tak for det!

Jeg begyndte som udvekslingsstuderende på University of Texas i 1981... og så blev et år til fem år, og så blev jeg amerikansk gift (siden skilt og gift igen), var med til at stifte en importforretning og blev hængende herovre. Boede i Texas til 2006 og flyttede så til Washington (staten) hvor jeg har været siden (små 100km fra Seattle).

Spændende! Jeg kigger forbi hvis jeg en dag tager en tur til USA ;)

Gratulerer ;)

Congrats @denmarkguy! I've enjoyed your posts and can really relate to your viewpoint regarding fb. It's hard to go back once you've experienced Steemit! There's a certain depth here that I've found much more satisfying. Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us!

Appreciate the comment @bitsy-- Facebook definitely serves a purpose, and I still use it to share birthday wishes and photos with relatives back in Europe... but as far as sharing and discussing anything of substance (or trying to!) I'm pretty much done with FB.

"Congratulation". You are also doing a great work into this community, with your (seen from my perspective) quality centent articels. It has been very interesting to follow your posting.
Thanks and good luck

Thank you! This has been a great place for me to get back to writing, after some years away. Appreciate your kind words and your support!

A very big congratulation dear on this achievement. I really wish you complete your 10k followers by the end of the year.

You are a inspiring person and I wish you well in all you do man! and this is a fantastic photography...,

Your articles define you for who you are and what I notice is your ability to produce a stylish and quality content. I've seen you as a good artist and writer. I understand if you don't follow back and never expect you will follow me too. Reading your contents is another achievement for me because I can learn many things that differentiate our cultural differences. Readers are not just entertained by your quality contexts but by the quality pictures you put in. You deserve more followers and attention. Kudos my friend!

This is actually some remarkable work! Followed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59073.90
ETH 2519.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48