Steemit Feels Like the Ultimate Refutation of Racism

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

This is just a little showerthought I wanted to share, that has occurred to me several times recently.

There are people who believe that among the different ethnicities of the world, some are inherently superior to others. The belief in this proposition is known as 'racism', and there are narrower cases such as 'white supremacy' etc.

Steem is a place where people from all around the world engage with eachother, share thoughts and ideas, discuss, argue, debate. Promote each other, or try to cheat and extract value from the whole.

I am continuously impressed by just how intelligent and industrious the people on this forum are. More to the point though, the people who impress me are coming from an incredible range of ethnic and cultural backgrounds. So much more than on other forums (Reddit for example is dominated by Americans, Facebook encourages you to only interact with people you already know, etc.). I don't want to go into it too deeply and I also don't want to express some kind of cultural relativism either, but I think I would find it very hard to reconcile just how impressive all the people I have been interacting with from so many different ethnic backgrounds are, with the idea that those ethnicities are in some way inferior to others.

Sort:  

The Incredible Steemit

:)

Beautiful !!!! I am so glad to be a part of this !

I think the same I am talking to ppl learning different cultures and every person I've talked to are amazing.. I have not seen any racism I love it here it's absolutely wonderful I feel at home. Happy weekend!! 🕊 and ♥️

Right on point! I have met many king and helpful users who belong to a different part of the globe!

I don't think it would have been possible without steemit :)

its human nature and environmental factor that make some people think that they are more superior then the other.
hope steemit could reduce that thought.

Studies have shown that tolerance is infectious. So hopefully the tolerance of this community and the normalcy of interacting with people from everywhere in the world here will have an impact.

it will im sure, even just a little.

Unfortunately racism still exist. Most known forum in my country is full of it. Steemit is champion about that issue.

@demotruk, this is true. I'm so glad to be a part of this network.

I don't know about racism, but it certainly is a very positive and thoughtful community. I wonder why!

this is... really ture, so far all I've been having is good and positive feedback, from all aroud the globe. I really hope this chill and easygoing environment will continue in the future, so keep it cool and steem on ;D

Useful post ... thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60609.50
ETH 3014.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90