You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why is Steemit attracting a huge number of people from Africa?

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I have lived in Africa, in Kenya & Zambia and in South Africa too.

It sounds like there could be selection bias due to your own association with Africa, as the maintainer of the group. I have seen some users from Ghana and Nigeria but there is also a more noticeable surge in users from Aceh, Indonesia.

Sort:  

No bias. Just my observations as moderator. I let everyone in. Just like to check them out a little first. Interesting you have seen a surge from Indonesia. I have been pushing it pretty hard here, with everyone who speaks english :) Followed

I don't mean that you are being biased in your selection, I mean that Facebook may be biasing who the group is presented to (and therefore who asks to join) based on the info they have about you as well as previous members of the group. That is how Facebook tends to work.

Ah, I see! Wow, didn't know FB worked like that. Interesting. Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56769.47
ETH 2402.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30