PSA: We Have Many People Doing 'introduceyourself' Over and OversteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

I'm not sure I want to flag them as I feel it may be a cultural misunderstanding. However I do think those of us who upvote 'introduceyourself' posts need to be more cautious with our upvote.

Sort:  

I also feel the same way, there are strange introduce present every day.

I think a comment left describing your rightful disagreement with it could suffice if it is just a cultural misunderstanding, granted I think that culture or not it's hard to misinterpret introduceyourself as something other..

I understand doing a second introduction after being here for a while. I've actually done so myself, because my first one was kind of short and I didn't know anything about Steemit then (and it missed a picture!). I think people doing those actually mention this during their second introduction though, so you know what's going on.

Using the tag over and over again, just because these posts get upvoted to the moon is a bit of a shitty thing to do.

Ultimately it comes down to the following: are you adding or subtracting value from the platform, and if you're subtracting, are you aware of this?

I have no problem with a second introduction if your original was minimal or even just overlooked, and the second one is more fleshed out. The reason I don't want to flag these users though, and am even hesitant to warn them (although it needs to be done), is because they do seem to be genuinely enthusiastic new users who are just sharing aspects of their lives. And the language barrier is quite high in my experience, the potential for misunderstanding, scaring people off etc. is high.

Yes, I do notice this sometimes. Tags being misused, but by people who aren't as well versed in English as others. That is a tough one, as you risk being misunderstood if you do try to point it out. I'm not quite sure how to best educate them, other than maybe just throwing a lot of smiles in there while you try to point it out.

lol, I think people do it because Whales hangout there? I dunno. :d

I always glance at their reputation, prior to voting.

If someone has a bot that specializes in introduce yourself posts they could add that check into the script.

That's actually a really good idea!

Whoops, that's something I have neglected to do so far.
I've been meaning to introduce myself since I joined last November.
Stay tuned :-)

Greetings, @demotruk! You have made it interesting and therefore good learning experience for me. Thank you!

Please don't make these generic comments on my posts. I will treat them as spam and flag them in the future.

got it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63740.26
ETH 2618.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79