Life in a drop of water.

in #steemit6 years ago

IMG_20180622_143005.jpg

I took this picture while in the bathroom. The gleam of the droplet caught my eye. I sat and looked at it for quite some time. I waited. I expected it to drop. It never did.
I was intrigued by the glossy, mirror like surface. Something about it captured my imagination. I thought about it on a larger scale. Why, if the droplet can stay in place mid-drip from the faucet, then why can't we suspend larger bodies of water? Well, yeah I know. Science, gravity, etc.
Just imagine if you will, instead of the town water tank, there was an enormous spout with the entire city's water supply bulging forth ready to drop.
"Mayor, the town is looking dry. It's time to water our people!"
"Yes, I suppose so," as the mayor reaches for the faucet. Evacuation sirens blare across the parched town...

Okay I see the flaw in that.

However, if we capture clouds as they accumulate and store them in a giant sky pipe?

Maybe not a great idea either.

Interesting, though I veered a bit off topic.

Water.
We need it to live. In fact, the human body is more or less made of about 70% water. Some would argue water was required in the creation of life itself.
Water can appear to be very soft and soothing but with consistency, and over time, can create marvelous canyons from solid rock.
Speaking of consistency, water can easily change it's forms from liquid, to solids and vapors.
The original shape shifter.
Water can freeze into sharp and deadly objects, that I have no doubt, impaled at least a few of us meatbags. Yet, it gives refreshment to the tiniest of creatures. Even bumblebees get thirsty.

In just one tiny droplet of water, is a universe in and of itself, teaming with all sorts of organisms. Then consider the ocean. How many droplets were needed to form an entire ocean? Then multiply that times the life it sustains within each drop plus the unknown amounts of aquatic life and mysterious creatures it contains within it's darkest depths.
Water can be a glassy mirror to our own galaxy.

Water forms itself to any vessel of any size, shape, or dimension. Water can be softer than silk or hard as concrete. Water can bring forth life or destroy it in a flash. Water can wash away the filth of centuries. Water can flow at any speed.

Water is a powerful force. I am water.

Curious substance.

I need a drink now. Enjoy the picture.

Sort:  

Good post!

Now I am thirsty!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60562.69
ETH 2903.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34