Kind Request: Whales And Minnows, @l0k1 Needs Our "Halp"

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Guys and gals, @l0k1, our friendly Australian journalist, is stuck in an East European country and needs or help to plough through the next couple of months until he finds a job and money for food and rent.


Image property of its respective owner

He's currently broke (as in living on the street - thankfully he found an apartment for the next week or so), but has almost nothing to munch on.

As an East European myself, I'd say he needs at least 1000 SD for the upcoming winter months, so I hope we can help him gather this money as soon as possible. You can upvote his story or this one - I will send him the entire payout from Steem and SD.

You can follow his misadventures on his blog or contact him on Telegram.

I'd like to thank everyone who upvotes, donates and reshares this or his latest article. This is a great opportunity to show the collective power of Steemit to influence a person's life.

Thank you!

Sort:  

You can follow his misadventures on his blog

He is a bit like a tragic hero on Steemit; I hope he can turn it around and we all get a good laugh out of it.

Charging your roommates sim instead of your own and then leaving the apartment for good - priceless

@l0k1 cheer up - I think we can halp :)

I'm sure he can manage, given the opportunity!

I found this post only because of @ontofractal's linkback bot. Thanks guys, greatly appreciated :) I am not quite on the street yet, but in two days I will be in arrears for my rent, and I did make the effort to become friends with my landlord, so he isn't just going to throw me out just like that. I may have to sell off my little mini-pc desktop computer now, to keep the fridge stocked up, but seeing this post gives me hope.

It's been a long time of me begging for help and everyone who hears, has no resources to get the startup I need.

I was just talking to my landlord, in fact, and he told me about the new movements in the saga of his property in varna. Turns out that a big part of it is owned by M-Tel, a major telecoms company here. They, in fact, have servers running in the basement of this property. This tickled my fancy, in particular, because, well, it shows that in a central urban location, you can easily run reliable servers here.

This is something I would love to have the opportunity to do, and here we are, in a time when running computers can literally make money, like, new money, like digging gold.

My landlord's situation turns even more interesting, major money family in his town, their 30-something son came to have a look at the property. The buyer who took a long time for his agent to find, offered to pay fully 20% more than the price they started with. The property is 100M away from the cathederal in central Varna. It appears this property might literally be a gold mine for them...

My landlord is of course irritated that it's taken so long, over a year, to get some movement on divesting this property, but at the same time, it sounds like this time of poverty could close with something even better than expected. One never knows... My time of poverty, on the streets of Amsterdam, and then traveling, then Sofia, the terrible job, etc... maybe it also is like this.

Or maybe not. Who knows, eh?

I do hope folks help out - although at this point, it seems they are not so willing to part with some of their Steem.

Well, this post now has the largest number of votes ever for me, and now even someone is writing a post with a linkback, others have resteemed... if nothing else, it is a very clear demonstration of the power of networking :) Thanks for the help, no matter what the results are, in the short term. In the long term, this is raising everyone's reputation and profile, and maybe further down the track is a big event that we all helped build towards, that makes a massive impact on all of our lives.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67130.22
ETH 3466.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73