My Favorite Steemit Apps : Steemit Board

in #steemit7 years ago

As a newbie barley minnow here on Steemit, I've been splashing around in the shallow end trying to figure out how things work. I have clicked on the FAQ, done some searches and just a bunch of trail and error. I am guessing for anyone new to Steemit, it is a bunch to swallow for such a little fish.

One thing that I did find was the Steemit Apps. And I didn't find it by using the menu. Sure, it was there and I wanted to take a peak, but I wasn't sure I would need anything out of it. Frankly, it just looked like I would be heading into developer tools and I really didn't have time for that. So, I ignored those things at the bottom of the menu, they just didn't seem of value to me. How I found them was a comment in one of my posts. It was from the Steemit Board.

But, truth be told, it wasn't from the first comment that Steemit Board left. I ignored the first comment.
"Great. A little badge. Okay... moving on."

Then I noticed it popped up again on another post. I was curious and I clicked on the badge!


SteemitBoard-profile.png

Woah! What is this? Why isn't this part of my profile or my blog information?

So, first I have to put this little tid bit out

Disclaimer! This is an organic and live site with the purpose of listing Steem related apps are in various stages of development. Apps linked from this page are not officially endorsed by Steemit.inc or SteemTools for that matter. Neither party can be held responsible for any damages done by using these apps or any misinformation provided through those apps.
If you find questionable apps linked here, please let us know by emailing to [email protected]

You see, the Steemit apps only use the API in order to create apps for people to use. They have nothing to do with any official Steemit. It took me a little while to figure that out, I was too busy looking at the awards and wondering why it wasn't in my profile.

So, back to the Steemit (not officially) Board and their Awards. If you have ever played a video game that required you to do certain things to unlock the next level, then you are familiar with what these Awards do. They keep track of your posts, comments, upvotes and replies. As you make post and comments and give and get upvotes, the numbers keep ticking up until you have unlocked an achievement level. Woo hoo!!


SteemitBoard-awards.png

Ooooh... pretty
Gold awards are unlocked and gray awards are still waiting for level achievement. All those gray awards makes you want to work hard to have gold awards!! And that's why I like Steemit Board, it gives me goals. Because making those goals must mean something on Steemit, right?


SteemitBoard-nextAward.png

The obvious goal is to keep writing and clicking away to up the Next Award levels. The more you write, the better things get for you, right?

And then there are the Daily, Weekly and Monthly awards. First you think, "Hey, I can drop out one post a day, nooooo problem."

But, then there is this!! What does that mean?


SteemitBoard-dailyAuthoraward.png

Well, if you click on the awards, it tells you what they mean. This award is for writing four(4) posts each day. And that number in the ribbon? That's the number of days I have written four posts.

Wait a second, DeanLogic! Are you saying we should be writing FOUR posts each day?!

Well, you can do what you like, but, yes, it would seem that there is an importance to creating four posts a day at a minimum.

Set Your Goals

Now, you will also notice the Top Upvoted, Top Commented, Top Payout Awards. Well, my fellow minnows, you pretty much have no control over getting those awards. It is like shooting a head shot at one guy and some other guy runs behind the first guy and gets hit as well, then a third guy pops up just in time to make his head a canoe. The game will award you for it, but good luck doing that again.

Now the last thing that makes Steemit Board great is that you can use that search icon to see other people's stats. Want to know where someone else is? Just put in their username and away you go! Maybe start setting your goals to out do them!


DeanLogicForkSing.png

Let the positive energy sing!


More Power to the Minnows!!


Sort:  

You don't actually waste any up-votes on that board do you?

I don't upvote anyone on the board.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68666.90
ETH 3251.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67