May 30 Days Writing Challenge - Day 8: What’s Your Most Consistent Hobby For The Last 5 Years?

in #steemit6 years ago

30 Days of Writing Challenge by @dragosroua

Well, first I will have to ask myself "What are my hobbies?"
I did write an article for a competition here on Steemit.

Photography

This is probably an easy one, but I'm probably no where near a photography hobbyist as those people who claim to have photography as a hobby. My first camera was a 110. If you don't now what the 110 film was, it looked like a small cassette and the cameras were rectangular shaped to fit in your pocket. Most cameras didn't have any zoom feature as it was built for compactness and ease of use.

I eventually got a 35mm camera hand-me down from my grandfather after I took a couple of photography classes in high school. I upgraded to a Canon X-Lite Rebel that used Advanced Photo System(APS) film which was another cartridge type film and the last step in film before digital took over. I was reluctant to go digital because I knew that, while you saved money on printing, digital cameras didn't have the high quality of film cameras, even smaller sizes like the APS. Eventually, getting filmed developed and printed began to cost way to much and I got a Canon pocket digital camera. I think I've been through 3 now, in the past 10 years, and I'm wanting to upgrade again. But, it isn't a high priority and I did another type of camera upgrade just a few years ago.

Film Making

Before I took the photography classes back in high school, I actually took a film/TV studio class in middle school. I think we recorded one show and used some green screen effects. It was like a news program. Beyond that, I was always a been a person who has enjoyed films and inadvertently memorized lines and things of absolutely no use in the real world except to impress people with my useless but relevant knowledge.

When I met my wife, she was into writing screen plays, do I decided to join a local film making group to see if it was a hobby we could do together. Well, writers are loners and that didn't really workout, but I managed to create over a dozen short films with the group.


MakeAMovieRTP YouTube Channel.

Gardening

Speaking of filming things, I also started a YouTube channel to record my family travels and gardening. Gardening or growing things, is something that I have enjoyed all of my life. I've tried to have some plant that I took care of that wasn't just a weed in the dirt. For my 8th grade science project, I did an experiment of growing beans from seed using different amounts of light and water. I got an A for it, but I didn't think the experiment was anything special, but I guess I did a good job of presenting it and it did take a few weeks to complete. Anyway, I've been trying to get my gardens going at the house we bought a few years back and have had some success, even if I haven't uploaded a video about it in awhile.

Playing Video Games

When I was growing up, my uncle gave us kids a video game console. It was basically Pong, but had a laser gun. So, I have been playing video games from early on. We upgraded out Pong clone into an IBM PC, which I played BBS games and other games that required me to take floppy discs out and put one in. Later in life, before I got married, I bought the Nintendo Wii and playing games turned from late nights after drinking shooting up people on America's Army, to doing dance offs with other singles at parties I hosted.

Now, I play a little bit on the Nintendo Switch and I keep steady tabs on Steem NOVA, even if I leave a fleet or two for the slaughter.

I would have to say that photography is my most consistent hobby for the last 5 years, because I've had the best two subjects a father could ask for.



DeanLogicForkSing-sm.png
Steem Badges

Let the positive energy sing!

More Power to the Minnows!!


DestroyAllBots.png
Trading on Bittrex and Binance
Claim Your Stake with a Stake Box
HODLin’
Stellar Lumen(XLM) -- Cardano (ADA) -- Digibyte(DGB)
Get your old school text-based gaming on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61434.10
ETH 2474.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64