May 30 Days Writing Challenge - Day 17: If There Will Be No Money Paid On Steemit, Would You Still Be Around?

in #steemit6 years ago

30 Days of Writing Challenge by @dragosroua

Well.....no.

I have a blog or two, which I am currently neglecting. The main reason that I am so active on Steemit is because it is a way for me to earn a cryptocurrency so that I can trade cryptocurrency. It took me almost 6 months time, from when I started, to be able to trade crypto, but I do have a small portfolio thanks to the rewards I have earned on Steemit.

The blog format on Steemit is limiting. For someone like me, I prefer the ability to do my own customizations, which I have done in WordPress. I even created a couple of hacks/plugins back in the day for WordPress.

However, for making money, I can't stand blogs with a ton of popups and other ads everywhere. There has to be a better way to earn money on your blog. Steemit does offer the better way, buy maybe not the best way. Steemit also helps get a bigger audience than I have on my personal blog.

There are pluses and minuses to both ways.
Who knows, maybe I'll figure out away to move my blog back and still earn crypto through SMTs.

So, as long as cryptocurrency lives and I earn rewards from Steemit, I'll keep putting in the effort.


DeanLogicForkSing-sm.png
Steem Badges

Let the positive energy sing!

More Power to the Minnows!!


DestroyAllBots.png
Trading on Bittrex and Binance
Claim Your Stake with a Stake Box
HODLin’
Stellar Lumen(XLM) -- Cardano (ADA) -- Digibyte(DGB)
Get your old school text-based gaming on.

Sort:  

if there was no money being paid on steem it will be no different to using facebook and 99.999% of all Africans here would leave

Yup.
Well, except for the content being used to make money off of advertisement.

all africans would leave to use facebook

In a way or in another i think we all are here for the rewards as well but in the same time Steemit is an amazing platform where i had a lot of fun so far, make some good friends and read and learn a lot about crypto-currencies!
I glad you manage to build as well a small portofolio with the rewards from here and at the end of the day all we have to do is Steem On!
Have a great day Dean!

Ironically, I left Minds.com because they brought in crypto payments for posts.

I left 'in protest' because I hated the fact that people who spammed the most and posted shit 10 times a day were making out like bandits, at the expense of genuine users posting good content.

And then I came here... lol :-)

Well said. It would not be a successful platform without the rewards for articles since the platform is not as user friendly as other social media. Facebook is like the aol of the internet back when it was not so user friendly but many people have just gotten fed up with the restrictions of the platform much how You tube is becoming.

The good things about technology, there is always someone else with a better idea. Facebook, Twitter and YouTube might be dominate now, but so was AOL and MySpace in their time.

If there was no payment, steemit becomes a fairly limited, albeit, free blogging platform.

I agree with you.
And if i was actually able to get a blog a day, and then actually get a following, i would build my own blog.

Here, there is a potential audience, but it is really finicky. And too easy to get buried, even if you have supportive readers.

It takes a lot of effort nowadays to get a successful blog going. You might get lucky and go viral, but if you don't, you might just piss off your followers with all the pimping you would need to do to get noticed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63252.23
ETH 3035.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73