Re-considering Trending Page

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

This is what I suspect will happen and it seems to be happening after HF18 ... 

Check the trending page of #cn tag ... and you will see top 5 posts are from @sweetsssj (3 posts) and @officialfuzzy (2 posts). I love both authors greatly so don't get me wrong. Well, as much as I love fuzzy, I don't consider him to be a regular cn-tag user or part of cn community (although he is certainly welcome lol). That's why I remove his two posts from the above image. 

So the only author left is @sweetsssj. Well, we love her and her posts even more, so this is not at all personal (sorry! sweetsssj for mentioning you). Obviously, in the future if fuzzy doesn't use cn tag and sweetsssj posts with her regular pace, then we will be very likely to have a all/almost sweet cn trending. As much as we love those great quality posts from sweet, the lost of diversity is indeed a pity. 

I believe this is not an issue specific to cn tag. Popular bloggers now will occupy the trending page with dominance as their posts, although really popular and great, have longer lives

I don't think we should ask popular bloggers to blog less frequently - you cannot punish someone being successful, besides, their posts ARE good and should not be discouraged! Maybe it is time for us to review how trending works and maybe it need not coincide with payout period. For example, we can set a new 24-hr trending, like the way it used to be. I am not good with solutions. But hopefully can raise some awareness about this issue.

Finally, apologies to sweetsssj again - sorry for using you as an example here. I hope you can consider this as another kind of honor! :)


Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67475.08
ETH 3475.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65