Number of posts shown on users' page should be re-considered

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

When I first saw this new look of my Steemit page, I really like it. Later it has undergone some modification and it was all good especially the long waited Feeds (hooray!). After I use it for a while and I suddenly realize:

I DID NOT post more than 100 articles during my less than one month here!

Then I came to realize: ok, the number of post actually refers to the total number of the posts that you started and the post (or, replies) that you made under any main posts (by you or others) - that's actually how the system works and the steems are calculated in a similar way.

STILL, I don't want people to think that I am a POST-aholic!!

In the following, I will call them posts and replies separately. Since the reputation system is introduced, even 90% of people don't really understand how it actually works, people started to cherish self image and be careful not to do seemingly credit-ruining behaviors... that's good anyway. So IMAGE becomes even more important on this platform. I am pretty sure that writing a lot of articles (i.e. posting a lot) everyday won't damage your reputation (only affect your reward) but it surly might hurt your image should you want to establish a personal brand. 

FIRST IMPRESSION is important

So I choose not to post too many or too frequent. But if I also choose to be nice to people who replies to me or to be active participating discussions where interests me, I do a lot of replies, and these are redeemed 'posts' on my first page, making me somewhat 'eager' in the eyes of, mostly, newcomers who I might want to impress the most. It is no problem for cool writers - they publish and don't bother social. But for most people like me, we want to publish a little bit and at the same time being nice to people who got interested in my posts just like normal life.

A SUGGESTION for improvement

I know everything keeps changing here and that's why I brought up this issue - very small, but might affect tacit communication somehow. It is not hard at all to change. So I show my suggestion in the following (me as example), everyone is welcome to have your say. 

  • Left: current default
  • Middle: what I would prefer
  • Right: with # of replies added. it might reveal some info.

See!? Now I have become a 27-post-er (engaging in 151 conversations) rather than a 178-post-er! It certain helps people who doesn't know the definitions here understand the blogger/author better, also it help reveal the true main posts this author has made so far as no one have time to 'calculate' the number of posts (under the Blog tag). 

Sort:  

I also found this question

yeah, I notice that you are very 'nice' haha... 400+ posts! and viola, this reply marks me 180th 'post'...

Agree agree agree. I found the figure confusing myself. If maybe to add another count for replies or comments

thanks for your sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58097.21
ETH 2581.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41