Steemit Average Votes per Day by User Category

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Steemit thrives on the chemistry between the authors and the curators. Being a relatively new user, I did not initially understand the concept of getting rewards for voting on someone's post (Honestly I still don't comprehend it fully). Other platforms reward article writers with either money or through popularity, but the concept of rewarding the people who encourage the article is entirely new (at least for me).

To know more about being a good curator I checked the steemit's official page and landed upon this link.
A line in that page caught my attention;

To maximize total STEEM Power applied to posts, users should vote on at least 20 posts per day. Voting on more than 20 posts per day has exponentially decreasing influence on total STEEM Power used.

Eureka! So we are supposed to make atleast 20 votes a day so as to increase our chances of gaining more STEEM power. Now this is something that I can check up in steemsql.com - the wonderful intitative by @arcange. I am mentioning him in almost all my posts, hope he does not flag me as a spammer!

Frankly, I haven't been casting more than 10 votes everyday with a few exceptions. So the aim of this platform is to keep oneself engaged and find atleast 20 good posts or comments everyday in order to improve the reputation. I did not make this cut yet, what about the others? Let's check the data.

Tools used:

Data Source : steemsql.com
Analysis Tool : Google Sheets

I wrote most of the logic into the query so that I can extract lesser amount of data from the database. This in turn removed my usual working tool Tableau from the picture.

As usual I am sticking to the categorization of users by vesting power (Guess I can make this my signature now!):

Vesting PowerCategory
Above 1000 MVestsWhale
Above 100 MVestsOrca
Above 10 MVestsDolphin
Above 1 MVestMinnow
Below 1 MVestPlankton

The Method:

Since I am going to do calculations directly onto the tables it seemed better to limit my data set to just the recent 3 months. It is the period when Steemit has grown exponentially so we get a larger sample of users.
I hit the TxVotes table to get the number of votes made by each user everyday and then superimposed it upon the Accounts table to get the voter's category. The step is to find the daily average based on the reultset available.

After pivoting the results, here's the final output:

Radar chart:

Radar.png

Table values:

Average votes/day.png

Findings:

  • Planktons - You don't make the cut. Your voting average is 12 votes/per day 8 short of the recommended 20 to move up the ladder.(Self note: Vote 20 posts a day.)
  • The fact that the more you vote, the more power you gain is true as the average is increasing by the level.
  • The radar chart looks like a shell with an approximate golden ratio dimensions.
  • Tuesdays on Steemit are a mystery. Lower votes/day but higher whale voting conecentration during the peak hours - Source

Takeaway:

>20 Votes is the key! Should make this a wallpaper on my station to remind myself daily.

Disclaimer:
After seeing the results, Most people will say that the bots should be excluded. I do not intend to do so as I still do not have a better way of identifying most of them through query. Manually excluding them may result in skewed data. I will revisit this once I make any breakthrough in getting that right.

I am part of a Steemit Business Intelligence community. We all post under the tag #BIsteemit. If you have an analysis you would like carried out on Steemit data, please do contact me or any of the #bisteemit team and we will do our best to help you...

Join the fabulous Steemit Blogger Discord community:
https://discord.gg/e5XFZKa

...and do not forget to
Steem Tail.jpeg

Cheers,
dbdecoy

Sort:  

Good post, always appreciate digging into the data and good visualizations. One thing though, it seems like that post about curation rewards and voting power (https://steem.io/getinvolved/paid-to-curate/) might be old. I believe some things were changed after HF19 a few months back.

Now a 100% upvote reduces your voting power by 2% which takes 2.4 hours to regenerate. Meaning (I think) that now the number is 10 votes / day and not 20. I think that's why voting bots upvote every 2.4 hours so they get exactly 10 (100%) upvotes each day.

Also one thing i'm not sure you took into account is the voting power used for each vote. Once you have over 500 SP you get a vote slider which allows you to specify what % voting power you want to use for each upvote. So plankton and minnows always vote 100% meaning they actually can't upvote as often as dolphins/whales can.

Close. When you vote at 100% weight your vote power is multiplied by 0.98 so if you are doing all your votes in one sitting you need to do 11. The math is 100% x 0.98^11 = 80.07% Then you will regenerate 20% over the next 24 hours to get back to 100% for the next day.

Why is it multiplied by 0.98? Do you have a source for that information? I'd love to see an explanation about the exact math behind all of this.

It is so that your voting power does not decay in a linear fashion otherwise your vote power would hit 0% after 50 votes (50 x 2% = 100%). It ensures your vote is always worth something and you can vote as much as you want - just with diminishing returns.

Here is a good article that talks about it :-
https://steemit.com/steem/@vcelier/should-you-care-about-your-voting-power

I am learning new things every time.... the voting power sliding scale, I did wonder about that. Such a crazy cool platform...

Oh! Didn't know that. Thanks for the information. I always adjust my power on @esteemapp so that part is not true.

@yabapmatt

Now a 100% upvote reduces your voting power by 2% which takes 2.4 hours to regenerate. Meaning (I think) that now the number is 10 votes / day and not 20. I think that's why voting bots upvote every 2.4 hours so they get exactly 10 (100%) upvotes each day.

I just revisited the steem.io link. It does not say anything about vote power for those 20 votes, so looks like they recommend at least 20 votes a day even with a diminishing power. Your post however got me to think about doing this average in voting power too. Thanks for that. Adding this to my bucket-list.

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub of 2.28 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @kid4life. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62875.98
ETH 2948.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55