Be a Steemit Mobile Blogging Champion! 🥊 | A Few Easy Tips That Will Help You Blog Anywhere! ⚡️steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Copy of Copy of steemit covers (19).png

It really is possible. When we went to Steemfest2 this year, we blogged for the entire week completely from our phones. Here's how we did it...

It’s 3 pm. And I’m in town with @teamhumble, sitting across from me. He’s also blogging but via laptop, which I also do often, but this time, I knew we were going to be picking up supplies and I wanted to keep my bag as open as possible.

Today my kit includes:

// iPhone //

VSCO Cam-1.jpg

Yes you can blog while eating pizza! And if you're lucky your post might even PAY for your pizza. What a world we live in. Blockchain power mozzarella consumption... brings a tear to my eye...

// Lil' Foldy //

6ED868CC-2FBA-4807-B1C1-306806605A3B.jpg

My wireless Bluetooth keyboard, great for typing and looking like a secret agent in coffee shops and hotel lobbies.

// Zee BatteryPack //

anker-powercore-20100-1.jpg

image courtesy imore.com

Because when they wrote Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy they forgot to mention that along with towels, an extra 20,100mAh battery is about the most massively useful thing an interstellar hitchhiker can have…

// My Brain //

*Optional.

Now, I think personally, that it’s a bit tricky blogging straight into steemit.com when you’re mobile, so I prefer a markdown editor, and my markdown editor of choice is..

// Bear //

feature-themes@2x.jpg

It’s clean and get’s out of my way when I just want to type and it syncs across all devices so I can pick it up on my main machine later!

(that’s actually what I’m doing right now, you didn’t notice that we switched space and time did you?! It’s actually about 3 hours after I started this post, and we’re back in the van clacking away at our respective computers before we chill down for the evening- blogging man, what a time machine!)”

Another secret weapon you may want to consider adding to your mobile blogging arsenal is

// Cloud Drop Pro //

Cloudapp allows you to upload photos from your phone and spits out that lovely direct link you’ll need to add your photos to your post using Steemit.com. If you use Esteem, you’ve already got a mobile uploader right there ready to go for you- sorted mate!

// Text Expander //

Text expander is another killer app that I personally use for my footers- it also syncs across all your devices, so for example, here’s my footer code..

and all I have to do is type "!footer" and BAM! There it is faster than a butter-slicked bullet train. Crazy useful on desktop, when using it on mobile you'll be thanking the QWERTY Gods.

Esteem, you’ve already got a mobile uploader right there ready to go for you- sorted mate!

// Steemify //

Of course, Steemify is a killer little workhorse of an app that makes sure you’re notified when a particular account posts, when you’ve got replies waiting and when you’ve been upvoted, mentioned, received comments...ect. It’s not necessarily built to help you draft your posts out, but if you’ve got a serious reply session ahead of you, setting up in ye olde coffee shoppe with that Bluetooth keyboard life will have you caught up in no time courtesy of our very own steemians @blockbrothers & @exyle.

// Wifi Map //

WiFi-Map-1-640x396.jpg

The lovely thing about drafting your post out on an app like Bear, is that if you can’t find a wifi signal, or you don’t have cell service a wifi finder app such as Wifi Map Pro is incredibly useful because you’ll often find the passwords to locked signals nearby as well as a map of where they are around you. You can even add the password from the coffee shop you’re occupying in order to other help other sad, cold and lonely digital nomads who are out there without connections…. AHEM!!!

The very last little tool is a fun little card-based app called...

// BrainSparker //

brainsparker_android_background-900x522-1.jpg

Now I've just started using this one, but I think it could be really helpful if you felt stuck about what to blog about! The app presents you with a random shuffle of cards, you choose one and you're presented with something that may spark some pretty cool creative writing...

brainsparker-card-250px.jpg

And that’s about it!

And the end of the day all you really NEED is your phone, a mobile keyboard and you’re off to the races to at least draft something out or jot a few ideas down, but if you want to go the extra mile, and really be set, or if you’re going on a long trip and want to be able to blog, but don’t want to lug your computer around it CAN be done, as I said, I survived all of Steemfest 2 in Portugal without my computer, and if I can do it, you CERTAINLY can.

If you’ve got any questions about my little tips and tricks for keeping it simple while traveling or while needing to blog mobile, hit ya girl up in the comment’s below and I’m happy to help!

As always,
Technologically Yours
<3 Dayleeo

» TWEET ME «
» YOUTUBES «
» DISCORDA «
» PODCAST «
Sort:  

quality post biza, get those mobile power tools! :)

Thank you love! Most of those apps I'd have no clue about if it weren't for you- as a token of my appreciation, the proceeds from this post shall go to our next trip to The Dog ;) <3

oh that's a deal! tomorrow then! lol.

Thank you for mentioning the Steemify app we made!

Thank you for making such a bad ass app! It's becoming one of my daily drivers :)

Oh yeah, I crave the day when I can post on the fly like a pro, like you. You've inspired me to search deep inside myself and find the secret steps to getting there: (1) toss my lame-ass phone; (2) buy a real phone; (3) re-check @dayleeo's mobile blogging checklist. There, now I can breathe. ;)

LOL Please don't let my post trigger any deep-seeded tech inferiority complex @cabelindsay! - I totally get that not everyone has the "gadgets" (sometimes by choice which is awesome for me, it's about making the gadgets I do have, work to maximum capacity in order to give the ol'tired noggin a break!

Really trying my absolute best this year to focus on just one thing at a time, keeping multiple strands from running. For me that means building in as much structure to wrangle my "all over the place-ness" as I can haha.

As soon as you have a structured way to post it becomes like muscle memory, and THATS where the speed comes in. I have a LONG way to go no doubt, I'm way to precious about my gif selection, the formatting and the cover image design at times. One step at a time <3 Glad now you can breathe ;)

I'm just giving myself a hard time for being kinda cheap. My phone is a Windows phone, and I've rocked it over a year with the most affordable plan I've seen anywhere. It lacks certain essentials, and so that just sucks. But one day, I'll upgrade.

Understandable! Just a note- all these tips work just as well with a cheap pre- loved iPad ;) no service required, just WiFi - that way u can keep your simplicity and your cheap plan ;)

NOTE: Looks like the Amazon link for the bluetooth keyboard is busted... if you're interested THIS LINK will take you there... I promise!

71b+samWZ1L._SL1500_.jpg

Oh awesome post! Super helpful, will definitely be looking into adding some of these things to help out with blogging on the go!

Awesome! That makes me so glad to hear @polebird, happy to have been of service <3

Wow! That’s intense. Got a lot to learn! Thanks for the post.

Happy to help if you have any questions, I promise it's less intense than it seems! haha

Awesome! Keep it up!

thank you my friend!

A bunch of great info here and much needed for a minnow like myself. Right on!!!!

Happy to assist the TigerBunny and happy to help if you've got any questions! Steem on friend! <3

It’s been 6 months you posted but it still helps. :) thank you for your information!!:)

wow @jisoooh0202 ! Thanks for that, really means a lot! :)

Wow, this is suuuuper helpful!! I didn’t know about most of these apps. Especially that footer thingy!! Thank you!

For some reason I don’t get steemified when someone resteems my posts... I don’t even see it in the settings... 🤔

Speaking of steemify... i follow you there so i've been seeing all your posts, but then I came to desktop and realized i hadn't been OFFICIALLY following you!!?! HOW CAN THIS BE!!?- I'm sorry for my blasphemous actions, I have taken the necessary steps and corrected my wrongdoing <3 ;)

😱😆
Same thing has happened to me a number of times.

<3 haha thanks for understanding, I was outraged when I realized lol

you're right! it's not there is it... I was probably confusing with esteem- going to edit the post now <3

Oh I had no idea esteem did that. I just switched it on there!

Nice! I was really rooting for esteem, but it made some things way too dificult and it's rarely updates- hope it gets better, or we get an official steemit app soon- wasn't that mentioned at steemfest? or am i imagining that

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62777.23
ETH 3059.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81