You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Exclusive: Larken Rose On Steem And How It Is Helping Power The Mirror Project

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Steemit's structure creates a mostly troll free environment.

This is a huge plus, but one mitigating thing is a lack of raw dissenting opinions (you probably disagree due to the backlash on a couple of your posts, but the majority of the posts on this site contain milktoast agreeing responses due to the nature of economics and people not wanting to put more time and effort into something with likely as great a reward as they can receive in a few short words). Many of the commenters simply drop a substance-free praise hoping for some upvotes from the whale or semi-whale author.

But appreciate you educating the masses on steem, gave your video a like on youtube and left a comment.

With regards to this game, is there any website we can visit? I tried googling "the mirror project" but the only thing that came up was a site posting pictures off reflective surfaces lol

Sort:  

For me personally, I know I'm still willing to disagree with someone on Steemit, but I'm also acutely aware of my tone when I do it. Even if I do strongly agree with someone, I might start by talking about the things we do agree on, or with a compliment, or wishing them a good day. It's made me realise that, for years, I've been really annoying every time I leave a strong comment.

Here are a couple of videos relating to the mirror

Agree completely... this i s something others have noticed. people call it the circlejerk. There is allegedly a movement away from this, but it is heavily incentivized in the current system.

side note: Have really enjoyed your posts.... I actually played professionally for many years (though i eventually went over to the business side of the gambling industry)

Oh yeah? What did you play and what did you transition over to?

I played mostly LO8, live and online (stars and tilt). For most of the time between the UIGEA and BF i was a reg at the 30-60LO8 game and the 40-80 mix game at the B. No, im not 80.

I was an OK nlhe player but given a choice between that and practically any other game, my choice was almost always the other game. Esepcially online, from the uigea onward i really felt kind of outclassed in NLHE on stars and tilt.

Post uigea, i was also involved in helping people get money on and off the major sites. Post black friday, i ran a vpn network. that led to helping start a DNM and a bunch of other highly lucrative, somewhat shady stuff,. Now im an attorney, which is what i went to school for. I mostly help off shore business establish a presence in the US.

linked my intro post with some of my back story:
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@sigmajin/attorney-gambler-businessman-and-soon-to-be-former-steem-ian

Just as a side note, if the steemit circle jerk reminds me of anything from the poker universe, it was the lovefest you usually saw with regard to full tilt poker and its management and administration on forums like 2p2, p5s and full tilts own forum from about 2008 until black friday.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59207.00
ETH 2507.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53