I'll Save You Money for Steem Investment: Save Some Cash While Dining Out!

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Dining out is probably one of the most social things  you can do with friends. Problem for a lot of us is that it is really expensive. Aside from restricting yourself by chowing down on McDonalds or KFC, what are some ways to cut down on restaurant dining costs? Here are some of the ways I’ve managed to make dining a fiscally bearable task.

Coupons

Look at your Sunday newspaper, online, etc for coupons to various restaurants. This can be a great savings that you otherwise would not have received.

I suggest buying coupons during a sale (they throw sales often and you can get $25 discounts for as low as $2). The idea with these is that you get $10-$100 off a meal but you have to spend a certain amount, you have to tip a set amount (15%-18%), the tip is usually added on the total of the bill BEFORE your coupon, and other various exclusions (you can not combine it with another offer). At one of my frequented restaurants, they require a $50 minimum to get $25 off. Without the coupon, and after tax and tip, the total would be about $61.12. With the coupon, the total is a mere $32.50. If each entrée costs about $9-12 so, I can bring about 4-5 people meaning that the split cost AFTER tax and tip would be about $7-8 per person. Not too shabby!

Happy Hour

Booze, food, and more booze… at a discount! Happy hour happens during a restaurant’s slow period (usually around 3-6PM) and during this time there are deals on appetizers, entrees, and drinks. A good example of this is Acapulco’s Happy Hour which consists of 50% off a select menu such as a monster platter for $5 and tacos for $1. I have managed to feed 3 people (including myself) for $14 AFTER tax and tip.

Go for Lunch

This especially applies to buffet style places. If you go for a late lunch, chances are that they will switch out the food to the dinner menu while you are still eating. This way you can fork over the lunch prices and still eat the dinner menu.

Split meals

Maybe you are on a diet or maybe you can’t stomach to eat the large portions. Whatever it may be, splitting meals is a good way to save money. Personally, I eat to feel OK, so I’m not looking to feel bloated or ready to puke my $10 meal on the floor. If I happen to be with a friend that feels the same way, we split the meal. Suddenly a $10 meal becomes a $5 meal. A small note, though, is that some restaurants discourage this by charging a fee for splitting.

Drink Water

Beverages at a restaurant are really a huge rip off compared to what you could get elsewhere. I guess dining in is supposed to make that soda taste so much better! In any case, most soda/juices will run you $1.50-$2 extra which you can simply avoid by drinking water. Beer at most restaurants is a big cost as well. A single glass will probably go for $3 but that same $3 can get you 3 glasses if you were to buy it at a supermarket.

Check Specials

Whenever you get a menu, there may be a section with specials. You might want to consider ordering off that versus a normal entrée. In some cases, the specials overshadow the normal entrees. I was once out with my family and I ordered something off the specials while my sister got a normal entrée. She got fries and a sandwich for $9.50. I got a sandwich, fries, salad, and soup for $6.99.

Eat a little before going out!

If you are like me and you eat out to be with friends, you may feel out of place or singled out if you go to a restaurant and order nothing. If you want to save a few bucks, you can eat a meal before going out and consider eating an appetizer or dessert at the restaurant. Desserts and appetizers are much cheaper than an entrée.

If anyone else wants to share their tips, feel free to comment! I would love to hear about new ways to save money when I eat out.

Successful Steem Investments!

Next Tip:  I'll Save You Money for Steem Investment: Turn Off Those Gaming Consoles!

Sort:  

but it's Steem not Steam

oops .... Thanks! Fixed

You are one of my favorite authors but I will not vote you up because you put this in "steemit". Steemit has nothing to do with your topic. I should flag you.

Thank for your comment. I will consider In the future

I didn't realize the article was wrongly tagged. Still, you get my upvote because it's a great article. I will have to refer back to it when I want to go out to eat. I'd never thought of trying to eat during Happy Hour. That's a great suggestion :)

Thanks!
I hope it is also useful #savemoney

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 5.7 and reading ease of 85%. This puts the writing level on par with Jane Austen and JK Rowling.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58394.86
ETH 2618.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39