For Which I Am Grateful

in #steemit8 years ago

I read something somewhere recently (can’t remember what or where, nor could I find it… so typical) about a woman who had a great friend. Any time that they were talking and got stuck in a negative spiral, complaining or otherwise criticizing and grumbling, the friend would stop and say, “Quick! What are three things you are grateful for right now?” Then, they would each think up three and suddenly, things felt better.

I love that. As a human who is prone to anxiety, I fret often and with great tenacity. But I am so, so lucky. And I would do well to remind myself of that more often.

So here are ten things for which I am grateful.

  1. The honest and complete joy that my dog feels when he realizes we’re going for a walk. Waking up and coming home to that exuberance is as good as it gets.
  2. Dishwashers. They’re the best. Even if you have to rinse stuff off first.
  3. New friends. As I get older, I am realizing that relationship by proximity does not a friendship make. Meeting a new person that you really connect with is wonderful and rare and I love it.
  4. Old friends. There is much to be said for history and not having to explain yourself.
  5. Airplane food. No, it’s not exactly Michelin material. Yes, sometimes I just bring my own food to eat. But, hello, you’re eating IN THE SKY. That’s some cool shit right there.
  6. Erasers. To err is human.
  7. Comfortable shoes. You only get one pair of feet, you know. Might as well treat ’em right. Someday, all my shoes will be comfortable. Someday.
  8. Taps. I can turn this handle and out will pour crystal clean, pure, life-sustaining water. This is magical.
  9. Flowers. Did you know that having plants or flowers near you can lower your blood pressure, reduce anxiety, and improve your reaction time? Plus, they are beautiful and do that cool oxygen-making thing that keeps us alive. Dope.

What about you?

Sort:  

Hey! Enjoy steemit!! Followed. Follow me back 😘

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62952.44
ETH 2542.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65