I have never Powered Down

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I do not intend to exit my position, but I feel afraid to try,

so I am going to Power Down for one week and share my experience.

Have you Powered Down? The only reason I may want to do this is to exchange STEEM for SBD before it goes up higher again. It dropped to parity a day ago, but it was 4steem/18sbd for one day there. Please share your experience. Are you powering down or powering up? I believe Steem should be at least $22 based on previous Bitcoin prices and I suspect that demand for SBD will drive the price much higher in 2018.


https://www.coingecko.com/en/price_charts/steem/cad


https://www.coingecko.com/en/price_charts/steem-dollars/cad

Are STEEM & SBD better than BTC?

Powering Down is turning VESTED Steem into LIQUID Steem.
The value stays in the account, but they are 'coins' instead of 'steam'.


Powering Down from your Wallet

Do not Power Down! You need Steem Power.

Without Steem Power you will not be able to vote or post very much.

Be Responsible;

Do not spend more than you are earn!

QUESTION:

Can you still Cancel your Power Down at any time?


Sort:  

@stephenkendal Do you see SBD breaking the Dec 18th 2017 price of $18 CAD in February 2018, or in the future of any of your charts?

I've unfortunately run into the situation 2 times since joining in July 2016 where Powering Down became a necessity for me. When you start powering down, you can stop at any time before it completes the 13 week process, which pays you 1/13th of your starting SP balance. If you stop it, however, it's not like a pause button. That's just...the end. So if you start it back up, the 13 weeks starts over with whatever your balance is at that moment.
Also, whatever SP you gather during your power down does not get included in your running power down. So, say I start with 1300 SP. This means I'll get 100 Steem weekly until we reach 0. But whatever SP I gather with my posts during that time does not get included. So during that time if I earn another 500 SP, then I'll end with 500 SP at the end of my 1300 SP power down. I'd have to start another 13-week power down to get that 500.

Hm, good to know. I hope price stability lasts long enough for this info to be useful to me in the future lol.

Hmm pretty cool how you haven't before. Good luck! When my account gets bigger my plan is to never powerdown, but I'll occasionally take "dividends" from my SBD earnings.

I would just like to exchange 120 STEEM for about 100 SBD, I am hoping the exchange rate stays close to parity for another week! Then 1 SBD can go to 100 BTC :D

Some of the information was unknown thanks.
thanks for share

wow...you create a useful post.....i like it.....i impressed to see your post..i hope everybody like your post...thanx for shear it

Thanks for your valuable & informative post.
I will wait for your next post.

great post, thanks for good sharing

I opened this post looking for answers just like you @darkflame, hopefully someone will comment to help us understand this part of the process, however, I have to be honest if someone does come along to explain, I have a feeling I won't understand regardless, it can be frustrating not knowing what your doing. Thank you for sharing @racykacy

@neoxian What would you advise?
Can we also discuss a February delegation?

Good.. I hope your next post will be very helpful for me..I want to know the experience..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63350.70
ETH 2595.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85