Why did I join Steemit?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I've been seeing a lot of posts like this and most of the time they are advertising something. However, this post isn't about selling you some idea or something you can use to help increase your steem. This is just an honest post from someone who believes that steemit is a good place to be.

So why did I join? Well my friend, Logan, suggested it to me because he knew I was looking for a place to put a blog. Somewhere where people would appreciate my ideas. So he found this site and I joined thinking that this would be an amazing place to get my start as a blogger. Now, I am not a whistleblower, hacker or anything like that and my blog is nothing super special. However, I do blog on things that only a small crowd find interesting but I love what i do. To me, that's all that matters. Steemit was the first place where I felt at home with my readers. Sure, not everyone likes what i post all the time but as a writer, I have learned that thick skin has to be one of your strong points. So here's the advice I would give to you newbies out there. Don't just post what you think you're gonna make money off of. Be true to yourself because if you compromise for more cash , you're going to end up becoming just another advertising committee. You're going to lose that one thing that sets you apart from the crowd. You can make money anywhere, doing anything but writing is supposed to be different. The way I see it, writing is like being naked. You let everyone see every little scar, everything you love and hate about yourself and to hell what they think. It's your voice, your personality...it's you. Don't change that for anyone because you'll end up losing it.  So never compromise. Post whatever the hell you want. The worst thing anyone can do is say they hate it but chances are, people have said that before and here you are, stronger and braver than ever before.


Thanks for reading!! if you have any thoughts on my post don't be afraid to comment. :)

Sort:  

Congratulations @darkerwritings! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57326.97
ETH 2428.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32