A Newcomers First Take on Steem

in #steemit6 years ago

hai-2507375_1920.jpg

That's a bit how I feel upon first posting on Steem. I just came here to have a good time. To share some of my thoughts with a community of people. So I paddle out into these new waters, discovering some great people--but I'm surrounded by sharks.

I'm being dramatic here, of course. Overall, my Steem experience has been grand. Though I must admit that it's a bit disappointing to see more bots than people. (Granted, I haven't interacted with many other people's posts yet. I'm sure that will help)

It seems that many people are just on Steem just to make a buck. Sure, I want to make a buck too, but I'm not here for just that! More than that, I came here because I thought Steem may be just the sort of open forum, decentralized, truly free social media site in which humans may interact with humans unimpeded by censorship and obscure algorithms.

I imagined in my naively idealistic mind that by decentralizing power and making everything transparent people would just interact with people authentically, unimpeded.

What I found, though, is that rather than community being demolished by some fat cats trying to make a buck off of us, it's being defeated by us trying to make a buck off each other.

I'm sure many people have discussed this and have come up with all manner of incetivisation programs to solve it--but I think that misses the point. This pr

Sort:  

Iknow exactly how you feel, i came here with the idea there was much more interaction. And that people would use the vote up button like the Like button on fb. But for some reason everyone is very greedy with them they do not like to give upvotes. I get nuts of all the bots, but hten it also helps us forward, so lets do that. But it is really horrible when you see 3 replys andt it is only bots that say we upvoted this post, or your post, or things like that. I love to share photos and storys, but you want to feel some kind of real interest. I would even be happy when there was just a like button :-)

Just stick with it a bit.. when u get a good following you will get lots of interaction with people.. it just takes time to get there, so dont get discouraged, the best thing u can do is write good articles and try to get more views on ur post. There are many ways to do that, check out my page for some ideas or contact me and ill help :) good luck

Than you for your peptalk !

I agree there are definitely issues with steemit, especially with everyone trying to make a quick buck instead of just enjoying it like u.
Im not gonna lie i got caught up in it for a bit too, but like u said its basically whales taking advantage of minnows who dont understand the confusing format.
But if u forget about all the whales and bots and actually communicate with the people on steemit and i have found it is the BEST community in social media! For the most part everyone is extremely friendly and willing to help others out, it is a close knit community if u join some discords.
Unfortunately it takes time and effort to make it on steemit and most give up long before that because it is only about the money for them, and that isnt enough to last on steemit! dedication
@originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @danno528 to be original material and upvoted(2%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Well, I just noticed that it only posted half of what I wrote. That's a damn shame, but I didn't save the rest of it.

I won't be making that mistake again. The end was the good part. Ah well, I'll be more careful next time.

There are still quite a few bugs in steemit with stuff like that, i always make a copy before i send now because i have lost whole articles! But they are making it a little better each month, just hang in there.

First of all Welcome to Steemit (I did read your two introduction posts).

I consider myself still a newbie too, and I remember how it is in the beginning. Yes... lots of bots and everyone is just hunting for the money. Money ain't bad... but after a while you (or at least I did) will learn to filter all the news and people and posts and bots and start to enjoy the community. I do :) And I wish you do too.

I saw you joined Qurator. Join us on chat sometimes :)

That's a group in the Steemit chat?

No, we are on discord.

Ah, thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 65139.82
ETH 3206.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16