Flu shot info from an RNsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

It's that time again...flu shots!....
The flu can hit people hard. Some are out of school or work for over a week.
As an RN in a hospital, I educate patients on flu shots, I give them the option to receive it, but I NEVER force my patients to get the flu shot.
Boo_to_the_Flu_poster.jpg
I am not against vaccinations, but I am very hesitant about what is put in vaccinations and question ingredients. I never just believe what the CDC says.
Mercury is included in vaccinations that come in multi-dose vials; the vial is used multiple times to give vaccinations to multiple people. The mercury is supposed to prevent bacterial contamination every time the RN or provider sticks a needle into the vial to draw up a dose. Some flu shots come in multi-dose vials and some come in single-dose vials.
It is kind of terrifying to me to think about putting mercury into my body. Do the benefits of the vaccination outweigh the risks of mercury in the body? The CDC states that mercury was never used into the measles, mumps, and rubella (MMR) vaccination.
iStock_000015742269Small.jpg
What does the flu shot do?
The CDC recommends everyone 6months or older to get the shot this year, NOT the nasal spray.
The nasal spray is the live virus that has been weakened.
The shot is just the antibodies the protect against the influenza strains, NOT the live virus. It allows our bodies to become familiar with those strains. If we do come in contact with one of those influenza strains, it is familiar already and starts fighting right away.

You CAN still get the flu with the flu shot, but the symptoms usually isn't as bad. Unless there is a new strain this year that is totally unrelated to any of the antibody strains received in the flu shot, but unlikely.

The CDC recommends certain groups at risk and should receive the flu shot:
-the elderly
-the immunocompromised
-pregnant women
-those working in healthcare and with children

thought-police.jpg
The only reason I get the flu shot is because my employer states I must wear a mask covering my mouth and nose from the end of October to the end of March. Others may not participate in activities or even keep their jobs if they do not receive the flu shot.

Thank you for reading! Please comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66649.32
ETH 3562.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.12