The Secret Steemit Formula - The 80/20 Principle

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Posting less but still earning more sound like quite a paradox right ? Shouldn't I multiply my chances of earning more by posting more ? Actually I would say, with great conviction, that posting less will allow you to earn more! Read along and I will show you what I mean.

untitled.1657.jpg

I work for a company that does art and craft products, and thanks to my boss I learned something very important. He started off this company by selling toys. During the first 10 years he had more than 10 000 different articles that he was selling. It took him a long time but after many years, and a huge headache, he realized less is more. He studied the sales and went back through the years, what he found astounded him. Among the 10 000 products he was selling at the time 20 percent stood for 80 percent of the turn over. This is how I learned the 80:20 rule.

untitled.1665.jpg

The 80/20 rule is originally called the Pareto principle. It is the law of the vital few, or the principle of factor sparsity where roughly 80% of the effects come from 20% of the causes. The connection was made when Vilfredo Pareto was studying in the university of Lausanne. Pareto discovered that approximately 80% of the land in Italy was owned by 20% of the population. He also proved the theory through planting peas. It was found that about 20 percent of the peapods he planted contained 80 percent of the peas.

untitled.1658.jpg

I found this ratio perfectly correlates to my blog post on Steemit. If I go through my post page i will find that 20 percent of my posts reflects 80 percent of my earnings.

untitled.1662.jpg

These 20 percent of posts could then say to be 4 times as successful as the other 80 percent of posts. So why is that ? If I study these successful posts I find a pattern. These are posts i really thought about and used a lot of time to create. The other posts is usually something thrown together more in a hurry.

Falling Flat On The Face

Now a lot of people will say. I have spent so much time on posts and then it falls flat on its face. Well if you are relatively new on the platform this does happen for sure. And that leads me to the next point why you should post Less.

"Look At Me"

We all grow up craving attention. I'm sure you have once said: " mommy, daddy, look at me, look at what I can do! " . This craving of attention doesn't really change, we always continue wanting attention. That means when you are sitting and waiting for others to acknowledge you and your posts others are probably doing the same. Don't let them wait.

Curating Is Key

I believe the 80/20 formula can be used here as well, but in a different way. Use 80 percent of your time curating, and only 20 percent of your time posting. Trust me your posts will start doing a lot better. You have to give to get.

Blog Diarreha

Another good reason to post less is that no one like someone with blog diarrhea. If you post too much you will flood the feed page of others. So when people visit your home page deciding if they want to follow you or not, it's not good if there is one post each hour, and all topics are random, it will definitely discourage someone to follow you.

If you on the other hand have a blog page with nice articles, that reflects who you are then many people will be drawn into your work and they will decide to follow.

untitled.1663.jpg

Think Like A Whale

If you were a whale what kind of post would you vote for ? You would have a lot of choices as there are new posts popping up every minute on Steemit. Most likely you would choose something with value right ? I believe this could be a good way of thinking if you want to make a successful post.

untitled.1362.png

I am not saying that we should only post long essays that take hours to write. I am not saying that we should only post once a day. I'm just saying that we should remember that quality pays off. It will give you more upvotes, heavier upvotes and also better exposure. Just one really good post can get resteemed and spread like wild fire, it can give you many loyal followers. And who knows maybe later when you go on steemvp, you realize that the top followers are the ones who started following you from that one great post, and when you sit down with the calculator you realize that their upvotes is 80 percent of your steem income .

untitled.1660.jpg

Sort:  

Awesome, my post about design..
I see your 3D so good
nice to meet you @dandesign86

Thanks for your comment :) Happy you liked it !

are you see my blog,, i have many design ..
what do you think ?
maybe you have advice

You have some nice designs there for sure. Do you mainly use photoshop?

of course im just use photoshop

I See. Some also like to use illustrator for design. But photoshop is very useful for sure ! It's good that we are more and more designers here on Steemit :)

yeah ... i agree with you..
dont forget to follow me oke , im follow you

Followed back :)

Good advice, I always take my time with projects before posting. Steady eddy mentality. Sometimes its ok to break things down into several posts and post a lot in one day, but not everyday. Nice write up.

Thanks a lot for your answer. Like you say the key is planning before posting ! tip! 0.2

Thank You :)

This is really great advice. I have been following https://steemit.com/@everittdmickey/
He has been posting a novel so to speak. One short chapter at a time.

His chapters are short and are well formed.
Not only is this keeping my attention it keeps me coming back looking for each new chapter.

Great advice and I intend to steer my self into this direction. 80/20 can be applied with great rewards.

Again Thank you both.
Dan & Michael

Just my two STEEMS Worth.

Thanks for the post @dandesign86 !

As the platform is so young, these posts help us form our "best practices" and SOP's for producing content.

I find STEEMIT to be a more creative platform than my WordPress Blog, YouTube channel, or Twitter.

I can still post videos to my YT channel, but then make a badass, in-depth, personable post on steemit vs. my blog, then share on Twitter where the formatting looks pretty good.

That is my current workflow:

YouTube video --> Steemit post --> Post to Twitter

I'm also powering up my STEEM to STEEM Power and commenting like crazy!

Thanks again dandesign86 !! Upvoted and followed!

Steemit is definitely a bit different from other platforms. Creativity is essential because it's necessary to grab and hold the attention of the reader. On YouTube I guess all you actually need is the click to make it count ? A video in my opinion is usually faster to create as well. It of course depend on what video we are talking about, but I mean in general, I thinks it's true.

Commenting might be tiresome in the beginning but it definitely pays off as I just followed you back ;) Have a great day my friend !

Thanks for taking the time explain Steemit in greater detail.

Going to commit to commenting and "digging deeper" with the creativity in my videos :)

Cheers @dandesign86 !

You are welcome buddy- glad you found it useful !

A nice write up, and plenty in common with my current thinking. Plenty of factors though, skill, subject, status, active followers, but i think once you've got a bit of these going on it is time to aim higher with fewer posts.

That is definitely a good point, progressively you can make fewer more focused posts. I think something important, especially in the beginning, is to not focus too much on posting. Instead it's better to put much more energy on good curating so that you get followers and later when you post your post will be noticed for sure. Relying on the "new" "hot or trending page might work once in a while but not as well as having good followers . Thanks for your comment buddy

curating with comments, bare minimum being they show you have read the content.

I made a brief visit to hot/trending last week for the first time, could be a while again now :) It was however with one of my most detailed/time consuming posts so i think that goes with what you are sating :)

Yea I don't go there too often either. It's better to rely on good followers 😊 Man your post the other day went crazy ! I'm so happy it spread and it was a success:)

Yes, these little followers may turn into bigger followers in time :)

A welcome one-off, thank you!

Very good post @dandesign86, thanks alot for that.
The principle is quite commonly spread but it is followed only on rare occasions.
Adding value is sometimes on a place like this not the easiest thing to do, but for sure there are ways most of us can do that.
In the end this is what this platform is about !
Thanks for the post dan!

I think value is subjective, but in general I follow the rule " no fun for the writer no fun for the reader" . If you are passionate about something it will shine through!

I knew the 80/20 rule but I never thought of applying it to steemit. But the way you calculated it makes absolutely sense!
Although I know, that blog diarrhea, like you call it, is a disease, I still write 3 to 4 posts a day, as I am writing in 3 languages, but the point you made is totally correct!
Btw. resteemed:)

Thanks buddy ! Well, actually I post also around 3 times a day. I think that is completely okay. I just think that it's not good when some people post once every hour and it's not even good material. Then it's better to focus all that energy on making 1-3 good posts per day :)

I couldn't write a post every hour, it takes me much longer to write a good post!

Yea it's not easy to do that, that's why these kind of posts usually suck I guess hehe. I think those who spam like this just copy paste basically

Those who copy paste are the clever ones among them. The really bad ones are those who write comments like: "Very good post! I like it! Very informative." And copy and past it thousand times. And if you look at the actual post you see, that it is about someones dog who died

Hahahah that is funny lol 😂

Hahaha yea this is some funny stuff ! I had one bot that kept spamming me with cat facts.. It was kind of funny at first but then you get tired quickly

This rules 20/80 works everywhere . I like your post :)

Thanks a lot ! Glad you liked it !

First of all, I'm loving these designs. You are really doing well with those :)

As for the content, I love this man. I am a big believer in these kind of philosophies. I believe in the Law of Averages.

These principles are taught widely in the Network Marketing industry. Specifically the 'Less is more' and '80/20' rules.

Won't get into too much detail, but nice job :)

Thanks a lot ! You made my day with this comment :) There are always patterns both in nature and in life, if we find them we can use them to our advantage for sure. So I take it you are in the Network Marketing industry ? I have always been interested in advertising and marketing as it relates to psychology as well .

I have a similar outlook to life. I love strong analogies. One thing can always influence the next, and that's why Arnold Schwarzenegger was able to become a legend is all his niches. Bodybuilding, Acting, and Governing :)

It's incredible, and proves verification that everything in life interlinks.

I actually was in Network Marketing for about 6 months, learnt as much as possible, but stopped. My mindset was not prepared. I do plan to join soon and shoot up to making $100K a month at least from that.

Arnold is definitely quite incredible that's for sure. I like that he came up with a lot of his own lines when acting, some of the best one liners he invented himself . They just crack me up !
I like the movie where he kills the passenger next to him on the airplane (it's some evil spy or something), then he puts a blanket on him and leans his head to the side. When the flight attendant comes with food he tells her "dont disturb my friend. He is dead tired!"

He has definitely more then just big 💪muscles, he is really a smart guy for sure

Oh agreed! How true hey. His style of doing this is so personalized, yet so effective :) I love it.

He has definitely more then just big 💪muscles, he is really a smart guy for sure

Amen to that. The man had a plan for the beginning!

Not sure whether his one liners was because of his smartness or because his bad english accent:) If I wouldn't speak german I would have problems to understand his english:)

This is an excellent article, I noticed the 80/20 rule when gardening.

Thanks a lot for your comment ! What plant was it, if you don't mind me asking ?

Great read. Thankfully i recently decided to invest time in my posts. posting lots of slap-dash posts really wastes your time!

It often does honestly :) Glad we are on the same page buddy !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60828.34
ETH 2917.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38