How I Plan To Climb The Fish Ladder Of Steemit

in #steemit7 years ago

IMG_6112.JPG
Everyone has Their own plan on how to progress in the steemit network and how to climb the ladder to get higher. So what is the secret formula to get higher on the ladder ? I think the answer will be different for everyone, but I would like to share with you my plan. It has radically changed recently and I will explain why in a bit.
IMG_6130.JPG
So today I was walking in a shopping center close To my hotel in Yalong Bay in Hainan and a saw this awesome sculpture. It immediately inspired me to write this story as I think it is perfect to describe the race of all us minnows and the battle to get higher and higher on the steemit ladder.
IMG_6116.JPG
In the beginning as I entered steemit I was very eager, I was nibbling on anything that moved and I was honestly a bit desperate to get followers. Yea I did say ; " follow me and I will follow you". It's a bit embarrassing but perhaps we have all been desperate minnows at some point.
I also looked to follow fish that a lot of other minnows were following, they are doing something right and perhaps they can help me up the ladder?
At a point I was following people as soon as they upvoted me or if they made just one post to capture my attention.
IMG_6118.JPG
The above tactics I have completely abandoned, and I will tell you why. Following bigger fish that have already several hundred or even thousand followers that I don't really have something in common With won't build for something long term and the chance that I will even be noticed might not be very high. Being desperate and asking people to follow we all find out fast doesn't work, and if it does it doesn't build a relationship based foremost on similar interest.
So what is my plan to swim up the minnow fish ladder ? My plan is to focus on quality instead of quantity. The number of people you follow don't need to be high but make sure that the people you are following are people you are very interested in. Firstly this will make it fun to use steemit, it makes it easier to comment on their post, this builds a solid foundation and a strong stepping stone to climb higher.
IMG_6124.JPG
There is no use to climb the stairs too fast, take your time. This also comes to posting material. Again quality over quantity I think is better. A fast post might get votes, but very nice well planned and quality posts might get you more followers, and also it will get you followers who like what you are about, not only for this post but for future posts as well. My plan is by no means complicated, but the overall message I think is that I have learned to not be so eager and build a network that is meaningful and fun and to try to produce quality because in the end that is the main purpose of steemit, creating value to the community but also of course to gain valuable information back. Also like the old saying goes the most important is not always getting swiftly to the top but to make sure that we enjoy the journey of getting there, this is in a nutshell my plan. What is your plan and what do you find being the best way to get there? Please share if you have some advice.
IMG_6115.JPG

Sort:  

Again quality over quantity I think is better. A fast post might get votes, but very nice well planned and quality posts might get you more followers, and also it will get you followers who like what you are about, not only for this post but for future posts as well.

This is nice @dandesign86. 'Less is more' applies to anything in life. If we just actually enjoy what we love doing, I believe that the rest will come.

If we write what we love, and stop comparing ourselves to others, I think the rewards will come in time. And we don't need to ask people to follow us, they really just come naturally. Even whales will take notice and even follow you. Just keep writing, because anything worthwhile takes time. ;)

I'm sorry my upvote doesn't worth anything at the moment..

Your comment means a lot more than an upvote! I think like you say less is more . That is the perfect way of putting it - Thanks

Amazing sculpture and your pics are spot on just as your post about the quality vs quantity. I truly believe in posting what you have passion for regardless if anyone else is interested. Eventually others will follow if they believe what you are saying is coming from your heart. Until then my friend we speak our truth as we know it. I'm following you and look forward to more of what you have to say. Thank you, Brother Charlz

Thanks a lot for that feedback and for taking the time to read through this post, I appreciate comments like this when you get real feedback :)

i am with you on your journey to dolphin level - am now following you in support - i also know it is long way to the top and am willing to take my time - i work a little every day or two but am not sure what is the best topics to write on yet - am enjoying the exploring and learning to write a little better too - rock on buddy

Thanks a lot for your feedback, and finding out what to write about an be tricky. I think it's important to focus on what you like to write about firstly as opposed to ask what do others want me to write about. Writing about what you like is fun and the passion will shine through and inspire others .

thanks mate -- lets rock this place

Haha sound like a deal !

Wow very beautiful view

i like it @dandesign86

Good on you mate, Stay Strong!

This fountain is AWESOME haha Is this outside the Minnow Support Project headquarters?! @minnowsupport

Hahha i mean it very well could be :)

Like on other flatform, I want to get the value from it, so there is no point in following somene who doesnt post something of interest for me.

Hi @dandesign86, my plan from the beginning is to focus on creating relationships. I see who, like yourself, is here to create real connections and I make sure I pop in on my peeps on a regular basis to make sure that I stay supportive of their efforts. I'm picky about who I follow because I don't want my feed to be cluttered with stuff that doesn't add value. :)

Very well written and thoughtful. That is very similar to the conclusion after posting here on steemit for about one and a half months. I try not to peer at others success and try not to be jealous. Instead I try to follow my own path which may be straining and slow but I can't post for things I don't stand for. Eventually those people who are interested will find me I hope!
Good content and gorgeous photography!

Thank you so much for taking time and reading and giving me nice feedback. We have been on steemit along the same time and it's good that we reached the same conclusion. Like you say it might be a bit slower, but staying true to our self and our material will be the most important in the long run !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63390.92
ETH 3093.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82