You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Apples and Oranges

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

I’m with you. The intended message in this post was actually for those people paying to promote their post. But it’s obvious I didn’t get their attention. Shooot, conversations with you, like this and one on one is my trending section.

Ed Privat conversations... Fresh sticky icky... blue skies and sunny, time to hang out with myself by myself cuz my wife is still sleeping, what a great day... man, it feels like Christmas. It must be Christmas.

Sort:  

What did Santa get you @dandays?

Actually there's 2 posts, that didn't get their upvote through bid bots, so it's all about who you know on Steemit, if you are friends with influential people, you can actually grow and make a profit.There's nothing wrong about it, it's a free market!
If someone wants to invest let's say a million dollars in SP and upvote themselves 3 times a day, they are allowed to!
I am just playing the devil's advocate here, because it's obvious that the examples you chose deserved a big upvote too! Maybe what we need is more manual curators with SP

You’re absolutely right dude, free market, self Upvotes, paid for, it’s all fair game.

I just don’t think anyone will be here talking about this exact subject, or anything else, music, stories, comedy, etc. if everyone’s feeds are full of articles with one picture and a sentence. Because we’re already seeing people vanish.. we’re already not seeing new registrations. It’ll suck if ‘steemit’ became The platform for trending posts and people like any of those people I mentioned go elsewhere.

edit
Danget! I meant to answer the Santa one here. Would you believe we don’t buy each other gifts? Yeah, what we do is, we write one story that we enjoyed from the current year. We add one picture that we enjoyed from the current year. We write one thing we’d like to attain/acquire in the next year and hand each other what we’ve written. That’s it man. We’ve been together for like 3 or 4 or 5 or however many Christmas's now, makes
Shopping easy.

What about you? Did you get something great? Tell
Me
A little about your Christmas dude. Kids, wife, what’s normal today? Family, friends, anything? C’mon man.. you know I don’t have those kinda stories.

We actually almost forgot put a Christmas tree until my son insisted! It just tells you how involved we are with the tradition, I have nothing against it, but I personally feel very disconnected from it, and we don't have money to spend in expensive presents anyway, so we don't offer anything to each other neither, and only buy gifts for the kids of course.
I know that's probably not the standard way to raise kids, we almost forgot Halloween too, they are being homeschooled, and they've never watched a program on TV in their entire life, they're the Youtube generation, customizing their preferences from the get go...
So yeah, we not your typical nuclear family... Maybe when we move out of SA we will adopt more "normal" behavior for today's society...
Until then society can suck a bag of d...

we’re already seeing people vanish

I think the true reason is just monetary... I can ensure you that when(if) there will be more money to be made, people will come back, everybody will post 3 times a day, everyone will comment again, because there will be an incentive.Hell I will even comment 3 times in a row on all of these shitposts if I have to.
Just kidding, but I get your point, I am thinking the same thing as you, or at least I used to .
Now I think, that if this dude wants to put 100 dollars on the table so his son's pic is on the trending page, good for him, good for his son, and merry fucking Christmas
It's always the same thing on the trending page anyway, it's always about the new "great project" that is supposed to save Steem.
Steem is just fine, wait for that sweet bullish market to kick in, and all them bitch'es will come back tail between the legs...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56787.81
ETH 2507.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24