You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why a Steem Power reward cap would be as controversial as the block size cap in Bitcoin [FAIRNESS vs FREEDOM?]

in #steemit8 years ago

Please please don't. I'm worried if you set this precedent it could be as bad as changing the Bitcoin block reward arbitrarily or like the max block size, or like the DAO fork. It's going to create the Steemit equivalent to a "class war" which at this early stage is unnecessary for only a perceived "fairness" which isn't truly going to be fair long term.

And honestly I'd probably benefit financially from such a cap because I consistently produce high quality content, but I am more worried about creating demand for Steem Power and keeping Steem fun than focusing on making Steem seem totally fair in terms of dollar value. The best idea I saw was to allow a voluntary shift in percentage from Steem Dollars to Steem Power so we get the benefit of perceived fairness without hurting the Steem Power aspect.

I vote against the trial because I think it would not be worth the negative psychological and political consequences. At the same time if you and other developers are determined to do a trial, then at least produce some statistics so we can learn what we gained from it if anything is gained, but in my opinion the costs long term would far outweigh the short term gains because it would reveal just how much power developers have to do a sort of price control that culturally I don't think the current community could tolerate.

Of course I could be wrong but I would see the divide would be between people who want freedom and people who want fairness. It might be that it's a balance between the two. I also see a divide between people who want more gamification (focus on fun) and people who want to focus on making Steemit a more serious platform. As you know what sides I'm on in this debate, I'm just being fair to say there are a lot of people who would take the opposite sides.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66512.58
ETH 3313.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68