Newtown ( South Africa ), and Steemit [ My Steemit Office part 2 ]

in #steemit7 years ago

Newtown

I remember a time when I was moving around the streets of Newtown Joburg in South Africa, me and my partner were looking for venues to host a fashion exhibition that we organised with a few indie designers. What I enjoyed about that time is the simplicity of the workflow, and it was all because we were constantly on the move. It forced us to be innovative and focus on the necessary tasks that needed to be done, despite the driving around and the walking about and the photo shoots we did with the promotional models which at the end of the day drained every ounce of energy we had, what was amazing about that time is that it flowed from one thing into the next and ideas went from brainstorming to execution in a matter of days, which would have taken another group of events planners a week or two. - It pays to have good hustlers in your team -

Steemit

I have been around here for a bit and I see that things are slow, I see this as a challenge and from what I hear from the veterans the struggles I am facing are normal. When in comparison to the work I did in Newtown though there was something missing and this is what I want to share with you, and If you take this and make it your own, I am certain that your steemit efforts will run smoother and you will feel a bit more inclined to participate in this awesome community.

There are a few aspects that you have to keep working at in order to build up your account, these are constants that everybody needs to pay attention to and as you get into what you feel is comfortable there are things you may start neglecting if you do not think things through, I know this because it happened to me. Which is the reason I created this solution from a few things that I have learned over the last three years.

I have already touched on the rhythms on steemit and I am yet to address the open loop in that post. part of that lies in streamlining your work flow into manageable chunks, and that is what I am presenting here tonight ( 23:49 ) Let's jump right into it:

There are a few contexts you have to place clear boundaries around, otherwise you are going to allow your attention to bleed into other focal points without finishing what you intended to do. There are distinct functions you have to fulfill on steemit.

The first is content production and I can only do that at my workstation, and because my workstation is in a common area I have a pair of noise canceling headphones to aid me in drowning out the world around me. I have a youtube tab open playing music that drives me to work with my full attention on one thing at a time. There are several steps in the process of creating a piece of content though and not all of them happen at my workstation, in fact the bulk of the work happens when I am not even writing. I have a trello board with several lists, the first is a content idea list, the second a research list, the third a writing list, the four an editing list, the fifth a formating list, the sixth a publishing list and finally the seventh is a promotions list.

Research involves reading articles on the web, and the best place to do this from is my mobile phone or tablet while on the move. Content Ideas also crop up in normal day to day life, sometimes It means I have to record a 30 minute rambling or ranting session in order to expose what I am thinking about in a clear way. Promoting my content can also be done from my mobile device. The final thing to fit in that this context is commenting and community interaction, you never know who is going to say whatever they said while you are in the shop buying Isle five because you are hangry. Your phone is the best node you have to keep in touch with those people supporting your work on steemit.

The second context is my workstation, and here is where the actual production takes place. The writing process involves writing, editing and formatting. What you will notice is that the last three posts I have written were just written. There is more I can do in the editing process and the formating process to ensure it is much more compelling, and while that is the Ideal what is going on now is that I am pumping out good quality content right at the stage I am in. This is to keep myself from creating facades which inevitably sap all my energy out of me and prevent me from producing proper content. Publishing happens at my workstation as well, there is a specific method to this and you will notice once it is implemented, because my posts may just be more visible in your feed because my posting habits will be coordinated with your activity on steemit.

The third and final context I want to mention tonight is the bridge. In the Art of War it is called your temple, where you plan for battle. Here is where all the reviews and retrospectives happen. It is important that you respect this area, and relieve yourself of your stress by visiting this space at least once a week. Where the ideal is once a day. Part of this in my reality is the inclusion of Zazen. I cannot explain why, but with two 30 minute sessions a day my life just flows in the right way.

That is it, the take away from this drive by is that work becomes easier to define if you have it separated into contexts, and for extra credit you should have an action list with you where you have all the work for that context listed and easy to access. The set of Ideas I am riffing on here can be found in a book called get things done, by David Allen. I highly recommend it, I am giving you a very brief introduction to it, and a very loose application of it as well.

If this was useful to you, and you would like to see more content like this, please upvote

Sort:  

Congratulations @damion-m! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57459.91
ETH 2436.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38