May Your GOODWILL Come Back To You 10 Times

in #steemit7 years ago

Do you ever feel like God and Universe are trying to teach you something? Things keep happening around you, to you that keep pointing to the same thing? Let me tell you a story...

I have a coworker that is here from another country. She is working on getting all the proper paperwork to stay and work, but somewhere in the mix she lost her driver's license that she already worked so hard to get. This was no fault of her own. The system is just screwy and she got tossed around in the shuffle of paperwork and red tape.

Normally she brings her lunch to work so when she gets dropped off she is in good shape until it's closing time when she gets picked up. Yesterday was different. Yesterday she had no lunch so she asked me if she ordered something from the sandwich shop down the road could I pick it up for her? Of course, no problem. I can drive down to get the sandwich.

I drove down to get the sandwich and the guy at the shop looked at me (he knows me) with a weird look and said "What did you order?" I told him that it was for "Girl's Name". Oh yes of course.. he just didn't see my name on any orders. I told him that this was for my coworker, she doesn't have a car. His response set my mind in motion and I can't stop thinking about it. He said...

May your goodwill come back to you 10 times.

Let me tell you a little secret about myself. I'm a terrible gift giver. No.... really bad gift giver. My lovely wife ( @findingjoy ) has had to endure 20+ years of my horrible ability to give a gift. It's not that I don't want to do for people. I love helping, serving and loving people, but when it comes to giving an actual gift.. I'm bad.

Here's another secret. I'm an even worse gift receiver. Maybe it's jut because I'm so awkward. Or, maybe it's because I really don't want to disappoint the person giving the gift that I would rather just not get it. Yeah... kinda more the second reason.

When I went to pick up that sandwich it was no big deal. It was just a little drive down the road. But when the shop guy made his statement about goodwill it dawned on me that...

Our lives are all about giving and receiving gifts.

It's not awkward or abnormal and there should be no pressure to please or to have fears of disappointment.

Here on Steemit people lately have been offering up prayers and gifts to my family due to my son's health issues (that link takes you to the post where he comes home from the hospital. It has other links to the whole story.).

People like @frugallady @ligayagardener @frostyamber @mnhomesteader @papa-pepper @bettertogether @katedansyng @weetreebonsai @mnmleger @goldendawne ... and there are others (sorry to those I forgot).

Some of them offer in person, some by texts, phone calls or right here on Steemit in the form of Tiny Fundraisers. May each of these people have their goodwill come back to them 10 times!

I want to live a life of giving gifts

Let's get this clear... I'll probably always be really bad at the kind of gifts that you wrap and awkwardly hand over to people, but I want to live in a way that blessing flow through me. @papa-pepper made a statement like that. I don't remember the words exactly, but it was about having the blessings given to him flow through him to others. I really dig that.

You can be a part of this

We can all be a part of helping the goodwill of others come back to them by 10 times! You can start by following each person I have tagged in this post. Let them know that you appreciate the community of Love that they are fostering here on Steemit. Give them your votes. The votes here on Steemit can be like a tiny little nod to goodwill. The more we share the more we Love.

Thank you to all who support me here and beyond! I do hope that I can pour out to you many blessings and gifts in the future. God bless you.


Thank you for sharing this time with me!
UPVOTE, RESTEEM, and FOLLOW!


Sort:  

As crazy or odd as it sounds when you give a gift the universe smiles a bit bigger.
A gift from the heart speaks volumes...
We all love Luke and we all love you as his parent (parenting is not a easy job)! tweeting.

Thank you for being an example of a giver.

Great post.its informated post.i like your all post😊.@daddykirbs

very impressive writing.

This is truly a wonderfully blessed gift to all Steemians. Your words are wise and true and will return to you ten fold. May you and your family be blessed this New Year! Upped and resteemed so as many Steemians as possible may see and hear.

I do truly appreciate you sharing the post. What we have here on Steemit is a blessing to so many around the world.

You are blessing us so much through sharing your life and adventures. I think I can speak for all of us and say that we were happy to do our bit, how ever tiny it was :)

Tiny was only in the title! The impact is not tiny :)

fantastic post...we give in other to receive even the bible encourage it . "givers never lack". We make a living by what we get but we make a life by what we give.

Thank you. I do love the quote "We make a living by what we get but we make a life by what we give."

We have two hands. one to help yourself, the second to help others.

And when we are tired we can lean on those around us. :)

true @daddykirbs i am following you know to see your future post and to comment on them...keep up the good work bro!

Thanks for sharing @daddykirbs! It's the little things that we do, which we don't know may have a big impact on someone's life.

Thanks to steemit, we have an extra way to send even just a simple prayer or some sbd's/steem to other people...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60699.39
ETH 2655.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59