Steemians, let's connect on Facebook!

in #steemit5 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 20190618 at 1.27.43 AM.jpeg


Hey everyone! Recently, I have been intent on intergrating all of my social media platforms as well as I can in. During 2017 and 2018, I had a rather cavalier and dismissive attitude towards traditional social media platforms, because for me Steemit was the place to be! Here I found a wholesome and supportive community that was diverse and exciting to interact with in comparison with the overwhelming toxicity of places like Twitter.

It can be seen that "comfort often breeds complacency." When we are doing well, we can be loath to expend extra energy that is seen as unnecessary. The crypto downtrend has been an indispensable lesson to me to be vigilant and hardworking on all fronts and not to "put all eggs in one basket."

Facebook can be seen as the old guard of social media platforms, and it will continue to have that legacy role going into the foreseeable future. We can use it to increase our reach, spread information about STEEM and cryptocurrency in general, and maintain a broader outlook on the current societal state of affairs.

For these reasons, I want to invite all my friends from Steemit to become friends on Facebook, even if you do not use it very often. The URL of my profile is simply https://www.facebook.com/danielpendergraft. Navigate there, and click "add friend" towards the top of the page on the right side. If you have a different name than you have on Steemit, please send a short message saying "Hi, this is _________ (your Steem username) from Steemit" so I know who it is!

Well, that's all for now! I hope my reasoning about the importance of using Facebook in conjunction with Steemit has convinced you to reach out there as we continue to build a new paradigm based on the rewarding of each individual's unique skills with cryptocurrency.... and beyond!



.
Much love,
Dan Pendergraft / @d-pend
.
.
.
Other Social Links:
YouTube
Soundcloud
Twitter
.
.


Screen Shot 20190612 at 12.31.20 AM.jpeg


Sort:  

@jongolson I think the steem minds are starting to attract the same frequency.

ha ha ha no doubt. it’s such a huge resource for us to leverage. makes sense :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Waste not want not, right? :-D I'm starting to get real pumped up about the potential of everything moving forward!

Some real interesting times ahead for sure. We can be super force if we leverage these platforms together.

Saw your message but my phone just died, on the pc now.
Yeah I do reggae, was one of the main things that attracted me to the poetry challenge back in the day, to get my song writing more poetic. it worked.

Absolutely. We are still on the cutting edge of things.

That is really cool to hear. I've found poetry has helped my songwriting ability too. I do mainly jazz/blues/soul/funk type of stuff... and some pop. But there is reggae influence in some of my tunes as well, it's one of my favorite kinds of music.

Now that I think about it country and folk influences too... I love most kinds of music.

Yo man. We already friends on Fb so I got to warn you. If you're going to promote steem there, be ready to get banned/shadowbanned. Since I am promoting Steem with my steemSTEM PROMO project, I got banned 2 times without any explanation, my profile was shadowbanned, my sister's profile waa shadowbanned and I think my page was also shadowbanned for a short period of time.

I know this can't stop us but again, be ready for that.

Glad to see a lot of Steemians spreading the word out there!

Hope you're doing great, bro!

Hey man! I have experienced this too. Because of that, I probably won't be doing a lot of direct promoting on the platform, just want to connect with people from here :-)

I'm using it to share my YouTube stuff mostly at the moment, and I have a few friends on there that don't have any other social media, so it's kinda nice at times.

I used to get really good engagement on my posts and now it's almost nothing since I posted about crypto a bunch, lol. Maybe I'll get unshadowbanned eventually if I don't do it for a while.

Hope you're doing well too!

I am on there. Would love to be friends with you on there too. But I would have to say that it isn't the best place to network and interact or to get your work seen. FB wants everything to be posted from within the site and there is no reward to my knowledge. Maybe now on the videos. Any outside links will be seen by very little people, even if you have 1000's of followers and friends. FB is a pay to play region. My feed is more boosted posts than anything else. You are much better off steeming on here, as a use of your time.

The Bitcoin craze was great but it was an zeitgeist kind of thing. But steem is for real and the price and traffic on here will go up. You are well placed when it does and can have a large role and making it happen.

My advice. Don't waste too much time on non steem platforms. They are a pay to be seen realm. Here you are so far ahead of the game.

LOL My bad....Jumped the gun before reading the whole article.

Sent ya a friends request without the message attached.

Jon Olson would be the request coming in...Not Jongo or Jon Golson as I'm known on Steem as lol

Hahaha! No worries man. Ya'll were fast! :-D

I just requested... hi friend!

Posted using Partiko iOS

ooops...! I don't have Facebook account...

Posted using Partiko Android

Don't have a FB but use Steemit? You are a hero! :-D

hahaha..🤣🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

Just sent a friend request with a private msg :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @d-pend!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.437 which ranks you at #708 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 1 places in the last three days (old rank 707).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 178 contributions, your post is ranked at #39.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I know where you are coming from. I was disappointed when I saw adds on Steemit and then I started using another Steem platform. As for facebook We have thousands of "friends" but only two or three people actually look at what we share. I like to keep my videos on youtube. The videos are mostly for my students. I don't tell them I have a youtube account, but now at least if they really want to they can find me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87