Should I stay or should I go now?

in #steemit7 years ago

Today I endeavored to update my Steemit profile, but I don't have any pictures of myself. So I directed viewers/readers/followers to the CONTRIBUTORS section of my Web site: http://currentofcolorado.com/#

Then it hit me. I'm simply repeating myself here on a new platform while searching for the next publishing paradigm. Let me explain.

My content has appeared in print and on-screen for more than four decades, mostly in the lower leagues. My writing and illustration samples are a fire hazard in storage today, yet I continue to pursue publishing with a constant eye on the industry itself. I helped develop publishing software while writing about soccer for 22 years, and this gave me a unique view of both industries. Like a speechwriter who sees the emperor going crazy long before the masses question his wardrobe, I've watched publishing fumble with technology.

Working from the press box at Mile High Stadium in 1996, I retold certain stories with different tools and compared audience reactions. Selfishly, I wanted to gather all the skills, equipment, and software to do it by myself one day. So I launched CurrentofColorado.com in 2014, a Web site featuring videos, pictures, unique audio interviews, and reporter stories. I edited everything and waited for reaction. I'm still waiting.

So I duplicated my stories on Facebook and received little notice. I switched to Steemit.com a few days ago, introducing myself with videos of art, soccer, and animals near my home. With 18 posts, I've put about 18 pounds of content in a 12-pound sack. My access to electricity, phone coverage, and Internet service is random. Consequently, my approach won't work on Steemit.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but Steemit is not a hit-and-run community. The stories are presented with a great forum for sharing AND evaluating. I love what I've seen from all over the world. But when I scroll through comments, discussions about the content seem rare. If I dump my content and don't return for a week, I'm not really helping the community grow.

But I have the same feeling I've felt before with Facebook, traditional publishing, and old relationships that start out sweet and fade eventually to over-chewed gum.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69618.00
ETH 3376.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76