You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Curation system needs to incentivise "Genuine Content Mining" - Be honest - Are you Upvoting... or BETTING?

in #steemit8 years ago

Funnily enough, I've only started following you because you replied to my comment and you've just posted this.

Just so others can see, I sport betted on this post here, not because I particularly liked the post (i did like it, but thats irrelevant).
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@proskynneo/finally-coming-out-of-the-shadows-an-introduction-from-a-dev

I partially agree, however, this is the problem with financial incentives. People will naturally chase the incentives, often not to become rich, sometimes just for the sport. Catching that post at 24mins was like catching a rare pokemon.
Luckily people can vote on things they actually like as well as predicting what will be successful. I also think that while we have this situation with a few accounts holding most of the voting power, it's easy to predict what will go 'viral'. Steemit will outgrow this as the power evens out over time (I hope)

Either way, this is a very interesting topic, and I'm looking forward to reading more from you...........

By the way I will upvote around 27 Minute mark, I've got a feeling this one will get into the low hundreds. #steembetting #upvotes #curation

Sort:  

You've been right in the 1 time I've seen you make predictions so far. So you have a 100% success rate. What could possibly go wrong?

exactly, sometimes it's just a bit of fun. I have seen some Amazing articles on here, but the articles I've really enjoyed are usually very low earners. Steemit has already built its own 'popular' culture with 'whale' chasing, celebrities/playmates showing up and earning big. That's where the money will go. The current curation setup only aggrevates that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58802.33
ETH 3158.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42