Sort:  

Exactly! I've already found myself wondering, "Ok, I need to find out common variables that the bulk of curation bots focus on." Which I didn't really like the idea of having to do.

Human engagement is an important thing, in my opinion, for any social platform. I don't like the idea that many of those with influence have a curation bot as a middle man, which while I understand this from the whale viewpoint, from a minnows it is solely seen as a luck of the draw with absolutely no feedback. I have a hard time feeling connected to a person with such a bot between us.

As stated by @dantheman, expectations are that curator bots will become more intelligent to including the content into their algorithms as well as leaving useful feedback, but until that occurs I find this to be an issue (for me.)

Still I don't like the idea that a bot will decide if you write a good and interesting content or not. Humans are unpredictable and bots will be using common traits for rating content as good and soon there will be people exploiting these with crap content that earns a lot.

We actually need more real people to help bring up the good content and encourage the good writers to continue writing quality content. People that like to write also do it for the feedback that they get from the readers. I like to share my extensive experience and knowledge in various areas when I know that it might help somebody, but if bots are deciding that my content is not good and there are no actual people reading it... I'll just stop writing and that is it.

I'm not writing interesting and useful unique content so that it will help steemit get new users from Google, I do like steemit to grow and become better, but I also write for the people that are already here and not for bots. I can as easily write elsewhere and make more than I'm currently earning on steemit, so obviously I'm not doing it for the money, but I don't want to do it for bots either.

I'm really on the same page with you! I way prefer a human curator for multiple reasons.

I just see the bots occurring regardless of my preference.

@thecryptofiend , ran out of nesting spots...

I hear you there.
Beyond that I would think that a curator by hand should be rewarded in some way by taking the personalized/human time and effort. Unfortunately I can't think of a way this could be effectively monitored for long if tried.

If I had the know how to become a witness I'd run on the proviso that I would use all the cash raised to power up and curate content properly without a bot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57960.12
ETH 2482.73
SOL 155.31
SBD 2.43