Dear Diary: I Will Never Buy Donuts Again As A Supplement For My Diet

in #steemit7 years ago

P_20171223_090929_BF.jpg

The other day I told my mother to buy me some sweet bread because I just had my late lunch and I feel that I have some craving for sweets. I had thought to give my body its needed calories because I am really not getting the calories that I needed although I have a limited physical activity.

So my mother went on to buy me my donuts filled with some jelly. So after handing me three pieces of donuts I wa surprised that they jumped so high with their prices. One piece costed me about half a dollar for each piece of donut. So even though the donut tasted fine it went bitter after I ate it because of its steep price as of today.

It is really just too much but in a way it is good. Prices of softdrinks too and beer as well as cigarettes skyrocketed in their prices after the government imposed extra taxes on these commodities. As you can see, these items are bad for health, sugary drinks and foods and vice items like smokes and alcoholic beverages.

Now people like me will not prefer sugary foods anymore and not all can afford cigarettes because they had gone expensive. But the donut price had gone also way overboard and I cannot comprehend in mind why it is so steep in its price like that. Surely I will never buy such as of now a luxury food which is not even nutritious.

Gif Source: FB Gifs

Sort:  

I understand perfectly what you feel, Aca in Venezuela, consume any dessert has become a luxury, because sugar is scarce and therefore any product that carries sugar is really expensive, a minimum wage is only enough to buy an egg carton, look for that the birthday of one of my daughters is approaching and only one package of candy is equivalent to one month of salary. Every day the situation gets worse and the government turns a blind eye.

wow that's even more painful, knowing can sacrifice my entire month working and not being able to feed well.

The reality of Venezuela is worse than what is said in the news, only those of us living here know how difficult it is to survive in Venezuela. I am a mother of 2 girls and this week I have felt really sad, because even the foods of the basic basket are not obtained. Each week is a challenge to feed my daughters. But I do not lose faith that soon this nightmare will end.

You said it pretty well. :)

prices are just skyrocketing due to inflation prices are reaching new heights. thats why I hate fiat and love crypto

As you can see, these items are bad for health, sugary drinks and foods and vice items like smokes and alcoholic beverages.

I always look at it from the positive side. It’s just not healthy including donut. Ow yea, it’s delicious and if you put some in front of me I definately wouldn’t hesitate, but you can always eat some alternatives, such as delicious fruit or chocolate.

why donut prices are so expensive there, in my place half a dollar can eat donuts as much and can be distributed to others. i think the price in my place is expensive compared to your place.

its the new tax implemented in the philippines.

yes, it seems with such a pajan that disadvantaged people who can not afford. that's my opinion.

I support your idea. Its good for eat only foods or snacks that is nutricious to your health and not just food that will even cause junks to your health. Stay healthy and enjoy life

It is ridiculous cryptopie how expensive even the simplest enjoyment is, a cup of coffee or a piece of gum its making it so people like myself can not even have these things.

Hello my friend! sometimes governments placed those taxes in order to increase the value of the products adverse our health as are the alcohol and tobacco, too bad so have done with rich sweet :(

@cryptopie This of the high prices of the products "non-essential" I think it is global, governments in their desperation to find money want to remove the little money that people have. Always in my prayers. A bear hug

facebook_like_me_thumb_up_classic_round_sticker-r085e0cd8f48d4a169bbf2813790fd0ca_v9waf_8byvr_540.jpg

You can try to get more of it ..
In as much you love its taste.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63792.82
ETH 2563.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66