Section 2 - From A to Z of setting up a website and profiting

in #steemit8 years ago

In section 2 I'll go over the following

  • Hosting Companies
  • Hosting Plans
  • Uptime and Downtime


    I'll purchase my domains from GoDaddy, but I will never use their hosting or emails set up because I've never been a huge fan of it.


Hosting Companies

  • You can find a hosting company pretty easily by typing in "Hosting Companies" through Google and a lot of great ones will pop up. I usually go with t35hosting.com because I've been with them for years and have never had a problem. The services they offer are pretty great and the CEO himself will answer a lot of the support tickes, which is rare.

Hosting Plans

  • When you're starting out with a new website you don't need anything huge for your hosting plan. I'm sure you want a million visitors a month, but it won't happen right away so don't waste your money on a big server right now. Set up a shared hosting plan which is usually $4 to $10 a month depending on where you buy it from. Like I said above, I normally use T35 becasue they have never let me down. I also purchase a dedicated IP address for an extra $5 a month which helps with SEO (search engine optimization). You should do the same, it's worth the extra money.

Uptime and Downtime

  • If a hosting company boasts that they always have a 100% uptime, run from them. There's no way to guarantee that because hardware does break from time to time. Most of the good companies will say they have 99% uptime because they understand that equipment breaks and there is such thing as human error. I've used plenty of 99% uptime guaranteed companies and have never really had a problem with them. Sometimes I'll get an email saying that my website went down for a few minutes, but normally it was to switch out hardware or tweak the software and that's normally done in the downtime for traffic so I don't mind.




    -

Thanks,

  • Razzy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54276.23
ETH 2281.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35