You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [steemit-idea] Adjust properly the REPUTATION numbers because they are missleading !!!

in #steemit8 years ago

Interesting idea. You are basically proposing that accounts be ranked competitively relative to each other. But you can't simply multiply by a constant to normalize the distribution as you are suggesting (that constant would have to change as the top account's base reputation changes). This scheme would require some comparisons to determine if a change in reputation has made a new account into the top account. It ends up being slightly more complex in that the hidden "base" value has to be kept track of in addition to whatever the current multiplier is. I favor simplicity rather than extra complication, but your point is valid in that it seems weird for the founders of Steem to not have the highest possible reputation. Although that just shows that the system is fair, I like that the founders have to play by the rules just like everybody else.

Sort:  

I like that the founders have to play by the rules just like everybody else.

The founders will play with the rules with my recommendation also... In fact the relative score compared with others will remain the same... just it is another way to tell the same thing.
I don't say that founders have not a good reputation even with this output...I fact when you realize what reputation they have compared vs other they are still near the top... I say that the majority will fail to interpret the numbers properly in a glance because we auto compare what we see on a scale from 0-100

Good point, it's like there's something in our brains hardwired to interpret numbers on that scale. My first thought when I saw the new number next to my username was "interesting it's out of 100 now" not "hmm I wonder what the max number is?". I would not be opposed to your idea if it can be implemented in a straightforward way.

Also, thanks for the link to the steemwhales.com site, I love seeing these statistics and how all the accounts compare! Are there any more such sites for various stats, or is this pretty much the main one?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65634.72
ETH 3493.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51