Curation Rewards: Earn Steem Power AND Support Developing Authors!

in #steemit7 years ago

I must admit I've been in a bit of a slump as far as authoring rewards go and it's mostly my fault (well, my employer too). I'm still at the office 50-60 hours per week and I've not had as much time to write and I haven't done as much fun stuff to write about sooooo....yeah.

But that hasn't kept me from earning! So here's my totals for the past couple of days...I've been earning between $1-2 per day worth of Steem Power through curation and it's exceeded my author rewards most days.

totals.JPG

But on to the main point of my post

I checked my curation distribution and there were two rewards that exceeded 0.30 steem power. So how is this possible if my vote is only worth about $0.50 at 100% power? The magic of the mysterious steemit curation algorithm...or something like that.

The larger earnings are highlighted in the image below.

10-31 POST.JPG

Notice the payouts that I noted next to the curation rewards? These authors didn't make a huge amount off their post and their reputations are in the low 50's. They're not ballers but they are posting quality content (in my opinion) and I rewarded them for it.

So the moral of the story? Support smaller fish who are posting quality content! You'll help others who are building a reputation here and you just might get a nice fat curation reward for it too.

I'm still not sure about the mechanics of it but I'm convinced the voters who have the most voting power / provide the larger upvote value on the post get the lions share of the curation rewards. So yes, the system does sort of favor those who hold more Steem Power but one could also think of it as the system is rewarding people who invest in the platform and hold onto their Steem in that form.

I've read that timing does also have a bit to do with it and I think one needs to vote on the post before the majority of others and I haven't really figured out the optimal timing because I suspect it is relative to the timing of all the other votes. So it varies (I think).

Happy curating!

Sort:  

Hi @cryptokeepr, just came across your blog/profile here. I like to support people that make an investment in Steem and don't just show up expecting to earn big rewards for nothing.

Also like you I am a "resident of corporate america" and spend a lot of time working, a lot of time with family, and what little I have left I usually spend posting on or developing for steem.

Specifically regarding this post and curation rewards - i wanted to send you a link to this awesome guide that explains how curation rewards work: An Illustrated Guide to Curation

Hopefully that helps answer some of your questions. @miniature-tiger does an excellent job of explaining a complicated topic in an easy-to-understand way.

Anyway, good to see a fellow corporate America Steemian here and here's to earning huge returns on our investments!

That’s a very detailed explanation! It all makes a lot more sense to me now how the rewards are broken down and distributed. I have seen some conflicting information posted in the past couple of months about the rewards for voting in the first 30 minutes as well as the first 15 minutes and it’s nice to have that sorted out now.

I will follow you as well as the author of the curation post. Thanks for sharing that and for the reply to my post! Time for me to go back to work now....

@cryptokeepr great insights about curation. thanks for sharing! upvoted. @gold84

Hi! How are you @cryptokeepr?
Nice job :-) I had some nice rewards too.
I'm trying to improve my curation skills... especially after reading @abh12345 posts about curation rewards ;-)
Have a nice day!

Steemitri The Mannequin

Yes I read his post as well and one that Jerry b did awhile back. Since I’ve been living at work lately I rely on curation rewards moreso than anything lately.

Hopefully I get back to posting more in a few weeks. I’m in the middle of designing a very complex machine at work and it’s gonna end up taking about 750 design hours. I have some help but the majority of it is me doing the design. I’d love to post about that and show the 3d machine model I’m creating in solidworks now but my non disclosure agreement with my employer strictly prohibits that as it’s company proprietary technology (even though it’s my creation).

Good to hear from you @steemitri. Big hug!

Wow cool about that machine ;-)
Good luck and try to have fun at work too ;-)

Ciaooooooo

Thanks Steemitri! I do have a pretty cool job and it can be very fun and rewarding when I don't let the corporate politics get to me. Happy Friday!

I dont get the curation system either. I do a fair share of upvoting but do not seem to get a ton of rewards. I will admit that I have a habit of upvoting in the first 10 minutes which gives it all to the author.

Thanks for the motivation to keep at it even when the creative juices are not flowing.

That’s the beauty of steemit. So many ways to earn! I’m still experimenting with it myself and will continue to share my more interesting finds.

I look forward to what you uncover with that....curation appears to be a lucrative practice if one gets a handle on it. I know SP is important in that area but I think even without being a whale, some good money can be made while helping others.

Someone just left this jewel in the comments which explains the whole curation distribution system earlier today! thanks @yabapmatt. Good find. MIght as well share it again...https://steemit.com/curation/@miniature-tiger/an-illustrated-guide-to-curation-from-the-simple-to-the-complex-with-real-examples-from-past-posts-part-1

Yup we should definitely help the new users here who are very serious about this platform.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63607.88
ETH 2506.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59