2 Months Rocking it on Steemit!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

I’ve been on Steemit for 2 months now and wow what an exciting 2 months it has been! When my wife told me about steemit, I have to admit I was skeptical as that's in my nature. I thought, "great, another social media platform I don't have time for." How wrong I was! I'll humbly admit my first impression was wrong (and she was right). I love my wife and I'm thankful for her and for all of you who've supported and helped me along the way here!

me.JPG

Why this turned out different than FB, twitter and others

So even during weeks when I'm not earning much, why have I still spent 1-2 or more hours a day here? I could think of so many reasons but these in particular stand out to me

  • The payouts make it worth doing whether they’re $0.10 or $70 (70=my highest payout)
  • Sharing things I'm passionate about and I enjoy doing is fulfilling to me
  • All the kind and intelligent people I’ve met here give me hope for this world and joy in communicating with them
  • The opportunity to invest and get more than a 20% return per year on my money which sure beats bank interest rates
  • I love seeing that my account value recently hit $3,000 and is above $3,100 (3k was my goal for end of September). BOOM!

This is not only a fun hobby but a lucrative long term investment

I've invested close to $2,000 of my own money here because I see bright future for this platform. I've dialed back my 401k contributions for now in order to invest in a basket of cryptos and STEEM is what I hold the most of in the form of STEEM power. As far as crypto investing is concerned, I also have some BTC, ETH, KMD, BCC, EOS, ZEC and BTS and plan to keep adding on pullbacks as I see fit.

The stock market is at all time highs and I'm at a good place as far as the 401K balance goes compared to my age. I don't regret reducing the contribution for now since the market needs a pullback in my humble opinion. Because of this and the extra spending money I have from my lucrative yet often frustrating corporate job, I can afford to invest in cryptocurrencies once per week and sometimes more often.

With the recent dip my buys were more frequent last week but I haven't bought anything since Friday when the bounce started and I'm gonna chill out on it for another week or so unless we see another great buying opportunity . I've already shared my buys from last week in other posts and comments so I won't go into it again. I'll just say the buys I made last week are green green green!

More Gratitude!

Look at the small bounce we've seen in the price of STEEM this week! Chart courtesy of iphone cryptotrader app / poloniex data

STEEM.JPG

Could we have seen a double bottom happen and be on our way back up towards $2 / STEEM? Time will tell but I'm confident it'll go there and beyond. I've seen some predict $4 and even $10 next year and that would be amazing but I'm thinking more along the lines of 3-5 years but who knows, it could be sooner than we think! I did a post recently about the current STEEM price and a few scenarios that could play out. Fingers crossed for the double bottom.

https://steemit.com/steem/@cryptokeepr/steem-trading-range-getting-tighter-where-to-next

So what's next for me?

I'm currently at 3,100 and some change account value and 464 wonderful followers! thank you thank you thank you all!

My next goal is to get my account value to $5,000 by the end of the year and have 750 followers. I like setting goals that are realistic so I can shatter them before I expect to. I hope you'll all continue to follow my journey here and I thank each and every one of you who have upvoted, resteemed, followed, commented, and supported me in so many ways. I will continue to reciprocate the good will as I am able to via upvoting good content, and engaging with all you wonderful, diverse, and intelligent people by commenting and replying.

I'd like to note that I've had a really horrible week in so many ways but writing this post and chilling my wife here next to me has made it all better and I am very happy at the moment. Thanks you @pretzelgirlsandy and thank you Steemians :)

me and wifey.JPG

Much love to you all and a special thanks to all the witnesses who keep this platform running smoothly. Onward and upward!

Thanks everyone :)

Sincerely -- @cryptokeepr (John S)

Sort:  

I feel exactly the same. I never thought that simply registering at a new social network could change my life like this. It has brought me a lot of joy and I have gotten to know some awesome people, that I would never have met if I didn't decide to try steemit. And I found a solid long term investment...

Congratz to your results. Now you might have an idea what growth of steemit and your account is possible in just a year.

I can't imagine where we'll be in a year but I'm sure it's going to be exciting to reflect on it once that 1 year anniversary of signing up comes around!

I'd like to have somewhere close to 10,000 SP by the time I've been here a year. Who knows what the value of it will be but I'd suspect STEEM will be trading much higher than it is now.

A unique and stimulating experience for the reluctant. You know the right place, and with Steem will be a success, God willing

Wow. Well done. But when I first read that you got to 3000 in a couple of months, I was wondering what I am doing wrong? Of course, it all made sense when I read on and you invested money you earned from your other life outside of Steemit :) Good for you!

Yes lol I bought my way in as far as a lot of my Steem Power is concerned. I feel pretty fortunate that I had the financial means to do so. I see it as one of the best investments I've ever made regarding my money as well as my time.

Thanks for reading and best of luck to you :)

Thank you! :)

Wow what a inspiration this story is I am new as in this is the end of my third week and I have really enjoyed it so far. I love reading stories like this it really keeps the fire lit so to speak. I hope to keep putting in the time to improve my blogs and become a more valuable contributor to the community. I have also met some really nice people with a lot of tips to offer. I want to thank you for this story it is what this platform is about. Thanks For the motivation. resteemed and upvoted

Thanks for the resteem and your kind words! I'm happy that others find inspiration and motivation to continue here from what I write. It does take a lot of time to get used to the platform and learn how to format posts, get noticed, etc. It's really just a matter of patience, building a reputation, and forging new friendships over time.

Best of luck to you!

Contgrats on meeting your goal for September! I just started here myself and so far love the community. I agree and was skeptical at first myself as well. but totally feel like I'm passionate about what I am doing regardless so everything else is gravy. For me I think the most exciting thing is being part of something different. thanks for the post.

Way to go! So happy for all your little to big achievements. Good going. I am trying to go up too and it is people like you who keep inspiring me to do that. Wish good things for you and your wife always.

Thank you @sharoonyasir it's always nice to see people return to multiple posts of mine. Thank you for your kind words. We wish you well too!

So glad you have found some success! Thanks for sharing your story!

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Thank you @gaman. Always nice to see you around!

this is just the beginning of success more will happen

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25