Sort:  

for me Synereo will just be another platform where I dump all the posts I already wrote on Steemit.
Akasha is for me the first Dapp that is really really close to be a killer app and show how smart are smart contracts.

Synereo will have smart contract integration later on too I believe, their roadmap is very complex, this is just the beginning. I'm a pre-alpha investor basically there, I was very early, although not too early, since people bought at 33000 satoshi ICO price I believe, I got in later at a huge discount at 6000, although I was still later I could have got in at like 3000 if I had been buying 1 week earlier. Well that's my fault. Now the price is 18000, and after more people join the beta it might hit 180,000.

I have been really reluctant to buy currencies that have another way than mining to get new coin like Steem. It is still not clear for me why someone would invest in it. So to be on the safe side, I decide to put my time (and not my money). This worked on Steemit, more than I could have expected.

Now I might use those hard earned steem to invest in Synereo and Akasha.

Well I did both, I knew I could not miss this opportunity so I both made money here and also invested. I turned something like 3000$ into 40,000$, mostly because BTC increase but also because Steem grew. Steemit has a lot of appeal and many people are eager to join so I would expect a lot more profits here later.