Are you supporting Steemit by powering up 100% of your rewards?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)


I always said that I will support with my time but not my money per se.

I mean in the beginning the accusations of ponzi were raging and the process of powering down was way too long for any serious in-vest-ment but I really liked the concept so I wanted to give it a try.

My trade-off was to make quantitative and qualitative posts, and any rewards I got was to power up right away. I didn't cash out any reward for the first months and looking back, i would have been better off keeping the rewards as STEEM $.

Anyway Steemit evolved a lot since I joined here and I am happier with it BUT there is a lot of concern and a lot to be done.

100% STEEM Power rewards

All of sudden I saw a lot of post showing their support saying

This post is a 100% POWER UP

I mean, WHY?

Is Steemit model flawed?


In our (very) digitalized age, finding a system to reward content creator is a very hard question! The model that is emerging is a sort of membership where you pay monthly fees to access any amount of content you want: Netflix, Spotify, etc.

Steemit model is very complicated in comparison. To work, we need a somewhat constant flow of cash, from investors to creators. Steemit failed to provide the right incentive for investors to keep putting cash in the system. The 104 weeks was a mistake. Letting people cash out [part of] the money very early was a mistake. Not asking entrance fee was a very good idea, on the other hand.

What about me ?


Well I will keep on my choice. This will be my only 100% power up post. I will give my time to Steemit, hopefully with quality and quantity. I have a feeling there is less people writing in here, or is it just me but my "feed" that quiet down. Also I find it silly that Steemit is egocentric, you publish to be view and rate by Steemians and not the whole world. This would make the plateforme more attractive, or at least that is what I think.

Leave a comment if you want to join the discussion.
cryptohazard

Picture from: steemit pixabay gratisphotography

Sort:  

I have been here a couple of months and a lot of your post is confusing to me. I enjoy Steemit as a blogging platform so much itself that the side part of the value and all these powering up and powering down things do not get in the way of my posting, so I do not overthink about it. Yet I do still read posts about all the ins and outs of this site. I am glad you have stayed despite what I see a lot of users had complained about, the value being down or less users than before. The 104 weeks thing I was unaware of, but that is part of the Steemit site I still haven't fully grasped nor really cared to try too hard to. I am glad I see enough users just posting their hearts out with lots of content not Steemit related.

I know I use Steemit links in my Tweets, Reddit, Instagram, and other social posts, so I'm usually catering more to outside Steemit anyways. I bet more new growth would happen if more users took this attitude of not just catering to the current Steemit users themselves, because remember folks, every stranger is a Steemit newbie, they just don't know it till you show them the site.

I come from a cryptography background so I heard about Steemit through my wandering in the blockchain space. So I always try to learn the maximun before pouring my time, money and soul in something. I mean there a lot of scam out there, not counting plain security mistake as the DAO. So Steemit was a weird discovery, I couldn't decide if I should stay away or jump in it. I took the safest and most interesting approach. I climb the ladder, or pyramid to be more accurate with my writing and curating skills. I did a good job, two accounts at +55 level and +300 posts on each. The money from rewards is "interesting" but that is not the main reason why I am here. I even post so that I could make a donation to wikipedia, which I finally did.

I have to admit I am a bit surprise you didn't hear about the 104 weeks withdrawal. I also admit I don't grasp all the cryptocurrency-economy as I abhor "real" trading.

Anyway thanks for your comment :-) and good luck here

Ah, I just came in Steemit blogging and earning, I have not purchased any amount of Steem or SBD yet. So I didn't come in using the platform with anything to lose really so have kind of kept this attitude of not let the inner workings of the Steemit system change how I would blog too much.

I had thought I read something more than 104 weeks withdrawal, like 2 years, but didn't do the 2 years is 104 weeks math. I was choosing to be a little ignorant, the stupidity I am blessed with lol.

I am doing it not to make money per say, but to share and help others, you can help them with more Steem Power.

Same for me the crypto/trading is coolbut for me it is mainly an excuse to write more and more.

yeah, 100% power up posts are really the only smart thing to do right now to grow your Steem and SP!

I am not sure I will do that. I still participate by creating but only powering up is a long shot. I am not planning on powering down either, even if they make it happen instantly.

I find myself wishing there was a slider for steem/steempower payouts. I want to put most of my earnings back in the system via steempower, but it would be nice to free up about 10% as I go along for if I want to use it for trades or something.

Yeah I agree something a bit more flexible.

My last posts were also 100% power up. I do it because I believe steem can grow and I want to gather the much SP as I can. Like you, I'm investing time.

That is what I was doing in the beginning. Now I guess It will be half/half. I won't power down but I will put the Steem on the other currencies I am following.

It seems reasonable! Maybe I would do that to, let's see what the 6th December will brings...Steem on!! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58075.38
ETH 2463.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38