You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Eating Your Own Dog Food: Is the Steemit, Inc Team Regularly Using Steemit?

in #steemit7 years ago

These are all good points Luke, and I'm really glad you're asking them. The lack of progress has got me down recently. I mean, I know stuff must be happening behind the scenes right? But the GUI stays the same, and as you point out, the outtages seem to be getting worse.

Voting seems to be really heavily affected, sometimes I'll vote, then try and do another vote 5 minutes later, and I get the "can't vote more than once every 3 seconds" error.

Just recently I saw that the post button got changed from submit, and I wondered if we had been abandoned. That feeling was strengthened when I saw Ned talking about how much time he has been putting into SMTs.

Steemit seems to have a big team and an admirable war chest, yet I don't see the progress. I tried to start an "If I Was A Dev" tag, hoping that some Steemit devs would chime in.

Anyways, it's good that you as a prominent witness are calling for more communication, I hope we get it. Especially as the Steem ecosphere grows, I think it's important for the centre of the Steemverse to be running smoothly.

I wish I could afford Steemfest this year, as I'd be right there with you asking those same questions :-)

Cg

Sort:  

I'm very new to the community and so far I came to the realization that Steemit community is the warmest thing in the entire Universe yet I come across tons of posts regarding the Steemit problems and I realize that I have them as well. Very same problems. I am used to technical difficulties. They are vowed into the core of our internet lives.

Flashback: Back in the days when I was a kid in Ukraine we had problems with electricity almost every week. Fun times, as the only device with the battery in the entire house, was a flashlight with a built-in radio. It was actually larger than a 5-gallon jug. Certainly looked like a giant red portable gun from the future. 😆 We gathered around it to tell stories…

Back to the story: So I was ready for some tech issues from a startup. I know it’s hard, I’m running one myself. But I wasn’t realizing that it’s currently the major frustration from the entire community.

Do you guys think that this is going to be fixed is this it? Is @steemit dying? Slowly falling apart? Bug after bug? Ignorance?

I was tweeting about the situation to Steemit this morning. I couldn’t load the page this morning. I really needed to write and post and so I went to the only other platform where I’m active. They liked my tweet 😒.

I couldn’t find any status updates from Steemit or any news about outages.

There needs to be more transparency?

Yes we all love the community as you say; however often it seems like the lights are on at Steemit.inc but nobody is home :-(

I would love to see a picture of that 5 gallon radio if you have one! Looking forward to that post :-)

Cg

Hah man! I wish I could find the images but it were the early 2000s back in Odessa, Ukraine. I was too young to even start thinking about documenting the history.

But you're right, I can write stories about it. Maybe they would bring some light to the Omens of memory.

Oh that's a shame, maybe you could find someone else's pic of the same piece of equipment?

"Some light to the omens of memory" ~ I like that, you put it a beautiful way. Speaking of memory, take a look of my latest series, it talks about how you can edit your memories.

Not so much edit the content, but tweak it so it makes you feel a different way; you can neutralise sad memories and enhance happy ones :-)

I very much look forward to those stories!

Cg

Thank you so much for your series actually! I've started reading yesterday and continuing today, you really got me intrigued about the memory editing.

And it feels so good to directly communicate with the author right after reading the quality content! I'll be participating in your discussions often 😅👍

🎶Current music: Sasse - Antiloops

Thanks. I love the great discussions we have here. I just got back from camping this weekend, and it's good to see I'm not the only one frustrated by these issues.

I think things are definitely happening behind the scenes, hopefully and I think they might want to push everything at the same time. I wouldn't be surprised if a lot got reveal at SteemFest.

Nonetheless I share this feeling that more could be done to better keep people in the loop with small updates.

I agree, what do you think we should do?

Those are the same glitches I have had with upvotes and stuff.

I am new ...so I don't know how my tolerence would be if I was in it from the beginning. I guess there has been A LOT of growth and improvement... But if I had been expecting so much more.

I do think status/progress updates would be an excellent offering from the devs to the community.

I am right there with you @cryptogee, it has been very disappointing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86