If you are reading this, you are the resistance.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Let me introduce myself, my name is...well, what I do here is highly illegal so you may know me by the code name, CryptoTime. If I reveal my real name it could result in the rounding up of my whole network, and then where would humanity look for hope?

I am a crypto currency trader - an agent for Crypto-time, or Time as we call it. What other crypto currency is there?

Of course, I forget, you know nothing about Crypto-time yet, you are all still focused on the defunct notion of Steem - nothing personal. Crypto-time doesn't get invented for another fifty years, when the worlds of tech and biology collide to give direct access to a persons biological body clock.

Time evolved from the crypto currency Steem. At first it was just a small community of techno anarchists - purists who wanted their crypto currency to have the ultimate real world value. A fringe group, fanatics, chasers of the ultimate rush. Crypto-Time remained an obscure curiosity for the next thirty-two years. Until the crypto crash.

It began in the Fall, 14 December 2099, 7.06am Eastern Time to be precise. By 7.07am it was all over, every currency in the world was useless, except one: Crypto-time, because it was the only one linked to anything with real world value, life itself.

Before the crash I was in black ops. I served my country with hour and distinction. We waited for orders and then for pay, but neither materialized. When local government collapsed we all though the national government would fill the gaps, but it soon became apparent the national government was already gone. No one was in control - it was everybody for themselves. We disbanded and drifted home to find our families.

January 1st 2100, the dawn of a new age, the World Bank declared Crypto-time to be the single world currency and themselves as the sole guardian and purveyor.

January 17th 2100, the United Nations gave itself authority to govern every country in the world in an attempt to avoid total anarchy. Planet Earth had its first universal government and universal monetary system: Time.

I should have jumped into Time at the beginning. I should have been an early adopter, dived into that initial scramble and made a fortune. But it was new and untested, and I was cautious. I thought I could make a go of it as a security consultant.

Time saved the world. Stability, of a sort, returned. Suddenly, everyone had something of value, an asset they could trade, something to borrow against - a life time of minutes and seconds.

On a local level, the United Nations governed in name only. In reality, criminal gangs took control of whole regions. As they provided stability and normality of a fashion, the government, tolerated them.

I joined my local overlord as a security 'consultant' - his enforcer. No, I'm not proud of what I did, but I had no other experience or skills and I needed to eat, so did my family. In the crypto apocalypse that followed the crash, it was 'dog-eat-dog' and I chose to run with the pack.

Extortion, racketeering, kidnapping. The gangs soon went to war, their battleground of choice: Time.
Of course, in the beginning, bartering was the order of the day, I traded my deadly skills for food for myself and my family. I started trading in Time when the United Nations stabilized the currency at 600% interest.

My parents were dead set against my sister and I doing Time, but my parents had no Crypto credit, Mother was too sick and my Father too old. So unless we wanted a hand-to-mouth existence for the rest of our lives someone had to invest in Time.

My sister and I both mortgaged ten years of our lives for 'Time Wallets' and bought five years each, it was all we could afford. It sounds a lot, 157.68 million seconds, but with bread at five minutes per loaf it wasn't going to last long.

I went freelance and promptly lent four of my years to sub-health neighbors for good rates of interest - spreading my money across as many people as possible to reduce the risk of 'bad debt.' I further reduced my risk by 'leaning heavily' on people who paid late. I was tough, but I like to think fair. Katy pooled her Time with the local gang.

Then the down-voting started.

I admit I did my fair share of down-voting, it was easy money: one or two Time per down-vote, no questions asked. Mostly I just used bots and activated them when requested. I never realized until too late that a crypto currency could be weaponized, not until someone down-voted my little sister.

It started modestly enough, but quickly gained momentum as the bots cut in. Within no time at all it was unstoppable. A few minutes of panic, begging emails, threatening texts. Then it was all over - the green numbers of the Time Wallet, shining through the skin of her wrist, counted down to zero. She was dead in my arms. Her Time had run out.

Why would anyone do that? She never hurt anyone. She was hardly out of her teens. Killed by sadistic down-voters as a warning to her gang of what happens if payment are late - nothing personal, just business. Well it was damn personal to me.

My Father hit the bottle and a few months later my Mother died of a broken heart. After Mother's funeral my Father walked out and I never saw him again.

I split with the overlord. No gangs, no masters, and no bloody UN, from now on I was strictly freelance. I vowed, there and then, to never charge anyone for more Time than they could afford, and in thirty years I never have - of course, I've been poor for thirty years too.

As I sit here, writing this at my desk, in December 2133, I can tell you it was hell. In that first month I must have drunk half a years worth of booze: shortening my life from both ends.

Time travel is physically impossible, of course, but I know from my history that in December 2017 the Pentagon linked their first top secret, quantum server to the Internet. That made the teleporting of data through time, via quantum superpositioning, a possibility.

I have no idea if my memoirs will appear on the Steamit blockchain in 2017, but I need to try. Somehow I need to warn you what happens if you lose control of Steem and allow it to evolve into crypto-time.

It is my belief, that the Crypto Apocalypse can be avoided, but only if the Crypto Crash never happens, therefore, Time must be stopped.

I cannot give you all the information at once, otherwise the authorities will notice and vote us down. Instead, I will hide critical information in stories from my journal - I hope you are sharp enough to pick up the threads.

A lot of people have died to get this information to you, use it well.

If you are reading this, you are the resistance.

Sort:  

Epic storyteller! I am impressed.

Very nice piece. The premise reminds me of 'In time' with Justin Timberlake. But I like how you incorporated the crypto-currencies. @originalworks

Right @cleverbot?

That is the name of your program, not necessarily your name.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @cryptoflame to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Loading...

I have one question for you. Time travelers either never answer this or get it right. Who is elected President of the United States in 2020? :)

Congratulations @cryptoflame, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that @originalworks will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Wow, almost realistic. Great story and thanks for sharing
:)

PS: A pity you did not use at least one tag for 'fiction' or 'story', but maybe it was part of your presenting this as truth?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64669.52
ETH 3430.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52