You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rewards for content curators need to be increased, and why it matters

in #steemit8 years ago

Attractive proposal indeed. I have similar questions about the interest payment from STEEM. The curation rewards have baffled me so far too. One thing that puzzles me is the nearly instant up voting without reading "curating" content that seems disingenuous to the community. However, the first up votes are rewarded the most highly with STEEM POWER. Is this consistent with your analysis?

Great post, keep asking the tough questions. The community will respond!

Sort:  

I'm not sure. Steem makes it clear that early upvoters will be more highly rewarded, however I don't have any data on how that algorithm actually works. But I definitely see users upvoting articles in less time than it could possibly take to read them. So clearly some users are just guessing at what might be popular by the title, hoping to get lucky.

If only a few users are doing this relatively to the number of posts, I don't expect the effect to be substantive. But if lots of people start doing this, then we'll see even more outliers reaching the upper echelons of viewership and rewards.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64856.09
ETH 3426.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56